Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

That 2nd midterm was my bitch

2004-11-23 - 11:13 a.m.

I came, I saw, I pimp smacked the second midterm, I came again...mentally.

Woooooooooooooo! At first I was still tired, being that I only slept when alcohol was still in my system. I drank about 1/3 of a pint of vodka with some strawberry banana Sobe when I first went to bed...and that got me down for a good 2 hours...then I woke up, put in about another 1/3 of vodka to a very teensy bit of the Sobe that was left, kinda gagged, went back to sleep...woke up at 6:30am..or maybe sometime slightly before.

In any case, alcohol + trying to sleep = some sleep, whereas just trying to sleep got me jack (which was the case for the last midterm, which I won't link because meh).

And then it was microwaving disgusting ass-meat chicken. You know the kind: where it starts to sweat that leprosy colored puss yellow all over (and through) things? The directions suggested two paper towels, but g'damn. So I ate those pukey protein niblets, went to Jamba, got one of my usual with an energy boost, then as a back-up measure I got one of the mountain dew energy drinks in the psych lobby.

I was fully prepared...dog-ass tired, but prepared. Well, sure, the material looked weird when I was going over it one last time, but I knew somewhere I still had the mental chutzpah to deal with this test.

At first, honestly, I felt a little out of sorts. I think it was the tiredness thing, because the first page of problems were pretty straight-forward. I had to go back toward the end to do a few, though. I guess my brain just needed to warm up and get that adrenaline jackboot.

And as I went through the test..and got to the end with 30 minutes to spare..and went back and forth and through a few more times to catch any errors...it occured to me that the bastard should have been more difficult. I was anticipating armageddon from the way the TA and the prof. had talked about the material...but this shit...I was prepared to lay the smack-down.

And thus I did. Of course, even after having read through the test 3-4 times to make sure everything seemed right, I still had to walk up with two students that needed to go way, way over time to finish. I took a look at Melissa's test, since she's a decent acquaintance. Not to compare answers, fuck that: I wanted to see if I'd missed a page. No logic to that whatsoever, but I'm obsessive-compulsive about tests and making damn sure everything is filled out.

I'm not sure when that ritual began, but there was this one time in my 'Ideals of Excellence from the Etruscans to the 15th century' class where I shoulda done it. See, we had blue book essays, and I wrote my heart into the history, english, and art portions (since the class was team-taught by 3 profs). Only thing is, I completely missed one of the history questions. It'd been on the back of a sheet or I'd thought it was a "choose this OR this" deal. No, it was both. Want to know what I got? It was a B for the history section. The other essay was that good in the prof's mind...and I'd gotten an A on every single essay in the course, so when I told them why I left it blank, they gave me the benefit of the doubt. Suffice it to say, that error didn't fuck my grade up at all--but probably from then on, I became a paranoid test re-re-re-examiner.

God I adored that class. One of the best I took as an undergrad.

----

So, the agenda for today is:

*Eat after this. Yum.

*Finish Ford application by re-reading 9th the final draft essays, make sure everything is filled in right, etc.

*Read over the NSF fellowship information and start thinking about how to tackle that bastard.

*At 4:30, head out from home to the psych building, meet people in front of the elevators, and proceed to get fucked the fuck up at the bar(s) of our choice. I didn't hold back last time, sure as hell ain't gonna this time either.

On a really cool note, my advisor Dr. C was mightily impressed with the re-editing jobs I did on my essays, especially the proposed research one. He thought they were impressive enough that I should sent them out to my other letter of support writers. True, the Ford Foundation suggests you do that anyway, but to hear Dr. C say that was a genuine compliment. I thanked him heartily for all his help. He went beyond the call of duty, or he really lives up to what an advisor should be ideally.

We went through 9 drafts together. I wrote, he edited, I re-wrote, etc. We came up with some extremely good material, and I think I have a realistic shot at getting one of 60 national Ford fellowships. I've got the application for it. I just hope luck and a nice caffeine high for the review panel are on my side.

Right, I'm gonna bugger off. I'll have details about tonight soon-ish.

Wooooooooooooooooooo!

(10 minutes later) Oh, and for some reason one of the songs that circled through my head was (I have no idea how to spell this) frara jai-ca. No idea why. It was a nice little WTF moment during the test.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.