Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

National Public Radio archives; studying for stats final

2004-12-16 - 11:58 a.m.

I love National Public Radio (NPR). I always have since I'm a politics slut. Recently, however, a good friend of mine passed along this link. It's an archive of "All Songs Considered", a wonderful program that showcases both popular and lesser known talent.

I especially recommend Episode 75. It covers not only the new 3 disc album release from Kurt Cobain's archives, but some exceptionally fantastic guitar and acoustic-electric work. It also showcases the former wife of John Coltrain, performing a song that sounds like it's from that old Nintendo game 'Rygar'.

All worth a listen; all clear and near CD quality; all, free.

* * *

I took the 2003 practice exam for the final yesterday..and while it seemed like I didn't know what I was doing at first, it turned out exceptionally well. There was that one post-hoc ("after the fact") analysis that I botched, but we haven't done those in months. I think I'll dedicate some time today to figuring out how to do all of them, read over the newest material again...perhaps do some of the midterm 3 exams (since those include just the new material; they're from older years, but they should still be useful).

So I had a good night's sleep after that, woke up, went to Qdoba for a chicken mole burrito (which has now surpassed the Chipotle burrito..something which I didn't think would ever happen. Sorry, Jalapeno Girl).

I'm at the D. Brothers Cafe as usual. It's a second home to me. Right now we've only got a few of our usuals. There's the dude in the bright right Wisconsin jacket, adorned with green baseball cap and short springy pony-tail. This dude is a consummate World of Warcraft player. For as long as I'm here studying, he's surveying various venues of vanquishing and quietly enjoying himself. Nice guy; helped plug in my laptop a time or two. Gotta have the juice, after all.

So while I'll keep studying and making sure I've everything down pat, I feel good and prepared for the final...well, almost. I need an 84% to be "guaranteed" an A. That's if the A cut-off stays at 90%. In previous years it's been dropped to 85%..or even lower, but I'll stick with my goal of getting at least 84%. I have a good feeling I can do that--especially since the final is at 2:45pm. A nice, reasonable time of day for a non-morning person.

Immediately after the final, incidentally, the lot of us gradies will be getting fucked the fuck up at our bar venue of choice. I'm not entirely sure if I'll be going, though, since I need to (laundry list for self):

*Get the AALAC certification out of the way, so that when I come back from Detroit I can still legally work with monkeys. Two hours of my life I won't get back, but hey: I did the same thing at Mt. St. University.

*Wash clothes. I am not driving to Detroit with the same gray slacks I've been wearing for over a week now. I'm also scrapping the bottom of the shirt and comfortable underwear barrel.

*Cut check to Landlord. I'll take care of that tomorrow morning, likely--if I remember.

*Deposit more cash onto the Credit Card from Washington Mutual account. Yeah, I still haven't gotten a chance to confirm those three branch locations in Wisconsin so that I can get a new debit card.

*Find branch locations of WaMu. I may be racking up reward points, but not being able to withdraw cash (unless I wanna pay 20% of my withdrawal for it) is a gargantuan ass demon.

*Some other shit I can't remember at the mo'.

Back to studying and all that. Wish you all well!

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.