Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Detroit vacation for the holidays: Part 6 of 6

2005-01-10 - 3:36 p.m.

(Excerpted from an e-mail I wrote just 45 minutes after the incident)

Holy. Flaming. Pile. Of. Wow.

So the road to Insanity, Wisconsin had been snowed over so that
you couldn't tell which lane you were in. All of the
cars huddled by one another, going well under the
speed limit. I neared Insanity, turned off on a sheet
of snow that vaguely bore the "exit" indication, and
merrily drove to one of the main drags.

Suddenly, just before the exit, I must have hit a
patch of ice or an unmovable chunk of snow. I lost
control of the car. It veered to the right, then onto
the left, barreling at 45-55 miles per hour toward the
center divider. Against my instincts I turned the
wheel in the direction of the swerve, pushing hard
against the brakes (like I'm not supposed to, but
instinct had to win out somewhere). I went into a slow
tail-spin on the highway, a driver behind me narrowly
dancing around my chaotic car.

And just like that, with some more break pressure, I
stopped--and was facing the wrong way on the freeway, into traffic.
Thankfully, only two cars were off in the distance and
I was toward the right of them. For some reason my
drive and reverse weren't working. I thought the car
had somehow gotten a screw loose. I thought about
calling AAA..but then I just decided maybe restarting
the thing would work.

It did. The car drove like normal and I slowly, slowly pulled left and righted the car so that it was going in the right direction again. I crept down my exit, along the streets, and finally nudged into my parking space.

I am alive and my car is undamaged.

The Aftermath

Writing right now as opposed to 5 days ago, I think the Detroit trip was overall a nice change of pace. I'm used to controlling every aspect of my life: who I talk to, what I eat, what I'm doing. I needed some chaos thrown into that mix. The photography and the socializing sans bullshit situation were the highlights. The speeding ticket thing (which I get to pay in its entirety I learned today, but eh) and all of the stress the last several days were sucky. Overall, though, decent trip.

So what have I been doing?

Partly being responsible. Partly. For the most part I've been playing VtM: Bloodlines. Always had a thing for gothy whatnot.

As far as the career thing goes, almost all the supplemental crap is taken care of for the fellowship apps. I finally have three profs. on my first year committee. I also don't have to wake up at 6:30am tomorrow, since the brain imaging session with a monkey has been cancelled. Yeah, we do odd shit like that all the time.

I have a few things scheduled later this week, but I can largely still relax, finish Bloodlines, work on some dialogue , and generally chill.

Oh, and just for diary record, Sylph and I decided to cool things for awhile. That's all I can say, but it's a mutually good thing, so no worries.

EDIT:

And I nearly forgot: I have 13 new prints as of now, all of which I've edited. I'll be posting them soon. Death threats and loving but subtly acidic messages about it may expedite this process.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.