Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

MLK Day: Well at least I can clean more..

2005-01-17 - 2:31 p.m.

I'd set up Monday to be my "get everything else done that you possibly can" day.

And smacking me in the forehead was a single, small sign over at the student course packet place: it was MLK day. Fuck. It'd taken me until 1pm to get out of the apartment, so I lumbered through the cold to Ian's for some alternative pizza. Today I tried the beef taco a la taco b*ll mexican pizza deal (terrible), and had the semi-usual pesto chicken (yum). An outlet of my bank is just half a block away, so thinking that I was still in 'get everything else done' mode, I stopped by.

Oh. Right. MLK. Fuck again.

This got me to thinking where Dr. C was going to be around today at the lab. I decided that I'd at least get some walking in, so I tromped the 6 or so blocks over there. Gabe was about and pleasant as usual. We planned some saphenous draws for this coming friday. I also talked with Missi and there's some teeth-cleaning of the monkey folk on wednesday, so I can get more practice in then too. So it's a monkey practice week for me in terms of learning where the saphenous (i.e. back of the leg) vein is and how to draw blood/inject drugs there.

Dr. C went to a meeting around noon and noone was sure if he'd be back. I decided to stop in at Industry Coffee (not the name) across the way, have the only spiced chai in Insanity, write me up some dialogues for the game enterprise I'm doing pro-bono work for.

I'm hoping he'll be around today so we can finally put a .50 caliber shell into this experiment conflict business. I've got some good ideas on pilot projects that save on costs. Also, apparently, cost isn't as much of a priority as Dr. C had led me to believe. Professors sometimes overstate things without meaning to--either that or good old paranoia is crawling up my leg with a butcher's knife in its teeth again.

As long as I can do the experiments I want, hell, I'll deal.

Tomorrow I have my first regression analysis stats class and the monkey behavior class that Dr. C is teaching. I'm just auditing that second one, don't worry. I'm not sure how difficult the brain inflammation class will be that begins on thursday. It's just a 2 hour a week class, but it's heavy on the molecular level. I've kinda grown to like that level over the years.

So I only have 5 credit hours of "real" classes: stats and a class that focuses on the immune messenger proteins I'm interested in. The research won't get under way until the procedure/protocol for the experiments is approved by the animal research committee. That'll be mid-February at the earliest.

I'll also probably need to start training an undergrad or two. That's going to be a sinkhole of time unless I can find some people who've already done the whole monkey schtick. You have no idea what kinds of hoops you have to jump through just to get competent with monkey work. I'm barely competent with monkey work as is--but I'm at the "I can fake looking like a pro" level right now.

I'm prepared for the semester to take up as much time as the last one, but I'll wait and see.

The legend continues--at a snail's pace.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.