Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Behavioral observations of monkeys (no, really)

2005-02-11 - 4:57 p.m.

AND we're being standoffish against North Korea. I can forgive foreign policy for being all oiled-chest machismo about 'Lil Kim, though. North Korea often postures in order to get what they want, like a temperamental high-maintenance person.

Unfortunately this is a high-maintenance communist nation with nukes.

Really, though, they just seem to want assurances that Der Shrubenfuhrer and company won't suddenly decide to invade them. Considering how macho we are with Iran while still having the proverbial dick stuck straight into the sands of Iraq, I don't blame them. Noone knows which way the western dragon will next sway. The Neocons have a peculiar way of dealing with things.

* * *

But going from the international community to the...me community, today has so far been unproductive as far as studying goes.

I came around the lab at 2 or so, met with Gabe to talk about some of the variables we want to look at for the pilot study. That took a decent chunk of time. Afterwards, I decided to start practicing doing behavioral observations up on the 3rd floor where most of the juvenile group housing cages are. In order to score behavior from such a complex animal, you need a real-time program that lets you type in a behavior code, enter it, and have the computer automatically tally the duration of the behavior in question.

An easy example is locomotion (i.e. moving around). All you do is type in 'Lo', wait until the monkey does something else, then press space bar or enter. You've now recorded behavior.

While it sounds simple enough, there are 3-5 other monkeys in the same cage, they all look alike, and there are about 35 or so behavioral codes.

I spent a little over an hour doing that just now. At first the juveniles in the far left room were less than thrilled to see me, but gradually most of them settled back into their usual routine. Just like people, monkeys get more comfortable around humans they recognize. I'll probably go back up on monday or something and hang out again. They are definetely interesting to watch, although the one teenager screaming his head off unless one of the other monkeys was cuddling him did get to me. Those are high-pitched shrieks in a not so huge open room.

As for right now, I'm going to read some here, get something to eat, then sit down for the night and study some stats and/or brain damage stuff. This weeks topic is cell death and we only have 4 articles.

Only thing that bothers me about the brain damage class is that 50% of the grade is active discussion participation. I don't mind discussion, but I'm not exactly sure when that occurs or how that's judged. Yesterday, we got an introduction by the prof to the topic of neurogenesis (i.e. birth of new brain cells) paper. After that, one of the students gave a presentation on a paper we'd been assigned. After that, the prof spent the rest of the class talking about a paper his group had done and showed us all sorts of gorgeous, gorgeous slides of fluorescent marker proteins and chemicals. Trouble was that we went until the end of class.

So my question is: where's the discussion? I had it kinda sorta answered afterward, since I like talking the prof's ear off and he (at least seems) to tolerate or enjoy it. Basically, I gather we have to mention our observations and insights while someone is presenting the stuff. There, so far, isn't any planned discussion circle.

This doesn't worry me too badly, since I made an apparently insightful observation about future directions that the prof's research team could take. He smiled and said he was writing a grant that dealt with my idea. I felt spiffy. Still, having to stay so on the ball that I interrupt people to sound brilliant doesn't sound so hot. I'll do it for the grade, but I'd prefer open discussion.

I like having situations be what they are. Ambiguity for things that should not be ambiguous immensely bother me.

* * *

I'm off like a prom dress. Have a good weekend.

* * *

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.