Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Binary reunions; the way of the geek is manifest

2005-02-18 - 6:03 p.m.

Normality has largely been re-instated. I'd had one of those realizations about 4 days back. Some misunderstanding on my part mixed with a mediocre day was horseradish for the brain. I wanted to scratch my psyche, but alack: I didn't know where to scratch. Sometimes a body just needs to wait for that shit to die right down.

Like I've said before: the loneliness of this city gets to me at some points, but it's usually a flipping page, a small explosion, belching movement but silenced quickly.

One cool development has been getting in touch with people from the past. This comforts me for some reason, gives history substance, like I wasn't hallucinating the whole thing out of bad hashish and nostalgia.

I tracked down Omega Kate by using some common sense and where she said she was going for grad school. Sure enough, she was there. The reply was brief, but she was very happy to hear from me. She had a comprehensive exam the next day, though. I'm waiting for the 2-week delay factor before writing again.

On the same day I'd also thought about giving my best friend from college, Adam, a buzz through hawtmail. Last we'd spoken was my first semester in grad school. It'd been just me, matching machete and hazmat suit, and cutting through the thickets of that Emotions seminar and a confusing stats class. He'd wanted to visit and I thought, "awesome, I can schedule this". But work piled on work, and looked at my schedule and, lo, I spakest "Goddamnit" several times.

Blasphemy aside, we got outta touch after that plan fell through. My sympathy goes out to the guy for some of the shit he's had to put up with. The Dr. Zhivago effect is not a fun thing. We're trying to plan some visit time in the roughly near future, perhaps along spring break. It honestly seems like yesterday since I saw the guy. Does my well-being good to be talkin' to him again.

Long-term readers might remember Jen, who came for a Cali visit back about...2, maybe 2 1/2 years ago. Been a long time since I talked to her, so I'm curious about the life oddities she's collected over the last however many months.

So far as work goes, I again have around 90 pages of stats reading to do. Thankfully one of them is a chapter that came before the chapter for last week. Don't ask me, I have no idea how we're travelling to that Babylon. Hopefully that'll keep going quickly. I haven't taken a look at the readings for the Brain Damage course yet, but I think there are around 5 articles. I really, really want to get started on studying for the exam on March 10th in stats (since I'm weird like that), or practicing powerproint so I can effectively get my presentation on for mid-April (again, since I'm weird like that).

I'd explain why I want to get work done ahead of time, but are we kidding about anyone about giving a fuck? I think we are not. Those sentences may or may not have been packed with grammatical sense-ery.

* * *

And in the wide world of geekery, I continue to quietly do all sortsa stuff. Regarding that game project I occasionally mention: things are going quite well for the lot of us. We now count 19 members on our staff, with a new musician, worldbuilder, and a few other folk. They've been coming in more often now that it looks like this project isn't going to be the Spruce Goose.

That gives me hope like a mofo.

Only complaint I have is that while we have 4 scripters, 5-6 worldbuilders, and 2 lead designers, we have a grand total of 1 writer--

Me.

All the others from the old team are MIA.

True, the new Management put me in the lead because I'm a competent organizer and have actually done shit these last few years on the team. Still, I'm kinda worried about the dialogue and book production falling behind the rest of the developments.

We've had a few writers apply. Unfortunately, those few writers have been mediocre. Not to sound like a judgemental fuck, but I'm extremely familiar with this genre, the current standards of the genre, and our team's given objective to pimp our shit well above the standards. In order to do that, though, you need:

1) Geeky organisms familiar with our subject matter.

2) Geeky organisms with time.

3) Geeky organisms with talent.

And ain't it a motherfucker when people are consistently 2 for 3.

However.

Considering how many more applications we've been getting for other positions lately, I have moderate hopes that I'll get a competent staff assembled soon.

* * *

D. Bros. is fairly vacant as usual. I love this cafe on the weekends. There are a few other studying folk like me--a few of which make me look like a light weight.

Right now I need to take care of something before getting fully back into the groove. Well, that and eating or something.

Espresso dreams to y'all.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.