Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Stats Midterm; bitch bitch, whine whine

2005-03-06 - 5:05 p.m.

Reading my notes for this midterm conjures a few images:

*Wading chest-deep in molasses with ball(s?) and chain accessories.

*Rolling a giant square block uphill with a built-in parking break.

*Bean-counting.

It took me the better part of yesterday and up until this time to read the final 1/3 of the lectures. That said, I have two excuses:

1) This is an advanced statistics class

2) Our professor seems to possess some quality--call it a psychic gift, call it luck--for having the most ham-handed explanations for key concepts. We also can't dismiss the 'talking too goddamn fast for me to write down clear notes' factor.

It's been a real treat all semester. This vague "conceptual" midterm has just added to the fun.

On top of all this was a development last night at the Espress cafe. I was sitting, I was reading, I was 1/4 regarding some chick that reminded me of a more meaty and curvy Laurel. I found this amusing, but then I began to notice I was feeling...off. My throat kept getting more and more aggravating. I figured it must've been the fat greek fucker who'd sneezed in passing without covering his goddamn mouth. Mommy and daddy's little booze bundle, making my life just a little more annoying.

I had to go home and pop some echinacea and antioxidants. I'd told myself for an hour that it was nothing, but this feeling was a little too familiar to discount. So I popped two pills each, read a little more, got frustrated a little more, then sat down to a round of d-land chat whatnot. It's a good proxy for a social life--has been for a few years now. Kinda like heroin, really: you smack it up and shoot some socializing when you crave it, leave it be otherwise.

I woke up today and my throat still felt bad. I had difficulty swallowing. Oddly, though, I didn't have any of the muscle aches or pains that might normally accompany something like, say, flu...so I'm hoping Behemoth Greek Motherfucker just had a small throat infection or some other benign shit. I popped more pills, did my usual wake-up routine, then ate at the pseudo-chinese place. It's been D. Bros. ever since.

One more lecture to get through and I'll have read all the notes. Then I get to go through them all again. I've already read all but one of the Brain Damage articles, though, so at least I've got a relatively clean slate.

Still, I don't like randomly jumping into some unknown situation. I like be adequately prepared for madness or silly shit. This midterm qualifies as both, me thinks.

If this sickness shit gets any worse, things might kinda suck...but I've got until thursday to kick it square in the head.

Also, I woke up at 5:45 in the morning. For no reason at all. I think my throat wanted water. I think people need to cover their goddamn mouths when they're infected. Wouldn't the world be a better place if we didn't need to worry about these things.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.