Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

I'm..ahead of my work!; financial shit resolved; summer travel plans

2005-05-01 - 2:49 p.m.

A Greek engineer, Mechanus, was once the marvel of the entire aegean and beyond. His automated miniature theatres, mechanical singing birds, and proto steam engine were thousands of years beyond their time.

The Christian Right, a pulpy tumor of zionists, apocalypticists, brimstone evangelicals, dominionists, and other savory folk went from being a national laughingstock to pulling the strings of the Republican party--and by extension national and social policy.

Many amazing things have happened, in as well as out of our lifetimes.

And for me, I have reached another amazing zenith of human oddity: I am ahead of my work. Far ahead of my work.

I have a presentation tomorrow for my psych. area group. It's of course already done, and I've practiced twice--once yesterday, and once just about 30 minutes ago. I've had some sort of sickness for the last 3 days, but I've kept it at bay and I sound decent. Another 3 or 4 more runs and I'll be comfortable with tomorrow.

I also have a presentation and a paper due in the Brain Damage class on thursday. The paper has long since been done; it's gotten a "great" and 'has the potential to be published' from my advisor, which are encouraging remarks. All it needs are some figures, which I've been making (for the really old studies) or getting ones from online.

I also figured that "reduce, reuse, recycle" isn't a motto just for making waste useful...so I've recycled about half of my 1st presentation (tomorrow) for use on thursday. It's my intellectual material and, hey, who am I to deny the ether to an encore?

I even made the titles a different color. Lavender on a black and red background. The background is very me. I may post it one of these days since I like it so much.

And so, if I wanted to, I could take today off.

Will I?

If you know me, you know the answer and how silly asking the question was.

The world could be falling all around my face, in meteoric plumes of flaming rock and shrapnel snizzlings--and I'd still be sitting up on a rocky cliff, ass planted on a flat boulder, smiling quietly while I edited some wind-like idea in a maelstrom of thought and action.

The only reason in living is living to reason--but reasonably.

Emotion is all sorts of snazzy, after al, and I am not a Panzermentsch zeitgeist of wire and blood magick. The Human will is nothing without a heart of flesh to will that forward.

* * *

Gran has saved my ass. Again. Bless the woman a thousand times.

I talked with her yesterday after I'd made my way out of bed; more difficult than it sounds, considering a healthy minority of mind wanted to stay in it. I talked with her about my research, other stuff going on, and my financial problems.

No problem, she said. She'd throw in some bones. And some mighty bones they were. I hadn't expected the financial situation to go over so easily. Thankfully, though, I have been saved from shoveling monkey shit or becoming a barista.

The only item on that agenda now is to campaign for tuition remission. If the Teaching Assistants all get their tuition paid for just because it was paid for during Spring 2005..I too should have my summer tuition revoked. So I didn't work for the department technically. Big deal: I still had my Spring 2005 tuition paid, and therefore I shouldn't be discriminated against just because I got a fellowship.

It isn't like paying 1,000 USD is something I'm looking forward to. So if necessary, I'll take it all the way to the deans. It is unfair to expect me to pay summer tuition when I clearly should not have to.

* * *

Travel plans. Travel would be neat, wouldn't it?

Here's a breakdown of the possibilities:

Pittsburg: I'm doubting I can pay for a plane ticket and food. I'd love to, but doubtful.

New Jersey and NYC: Same deal as above

Illinois, Michigan: This is slightly more doable, especially if I get some help on the gas expenses. The only problem of course being that I may not have the time. But maybe I can make some. Depends on the when of it.

California: See Pittsburg or NYC/Jersey.

Ontario: I have as vague an idea of where Ontario is as the next reasonable (read: rare) American. But I'm pretty sure that's far from the land of Wisconsonia.

So, sadly, I can only stay relatively local because Uncle Sam has a raging boner for my money. At least it's not for my sharpshooter skills. But then it isn't June yet, so the war in Iran hasn't quite come to pass. (Seymor Hersch exposed this horseshit, but it may still happen). I'm hoping the Neoconservatives decide to reneg on that foreign policy. It sure would be nice not having to go to the trouble of getting out of service due to flat feet, being a minister, and academic staff. Those are forms and interviews I'd rather avoid.

* * *

Right, so off to do more presentation stuff. I'm hoping all of you are well.

As I've said before, I miss talking to you all. The summer will be much more social friendly during the evenings.

Especially thanks to Gran.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.