Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

By no stretch of the imagination am I a "hardcore" gamer

2006-05-08 - 7:40 p.m.

And while I'm on the subject of articles, this is from a recent entry on how much gaming Americans do:

"Six in 10 hardcore gamers -- those who play three or more hours per week -- spent $200 or less on games last year."

Ok.

T, back me up on this shit.

I have a question for y'all: can you conceivably call anyone who plays more than 3 hours of console or PC/Mac games a HARDCORE gamer?

Hardcore.

You know, like hardcore techno having more than 115 beats per second. Like hardcore meth users where you semi-regularly get methamphetamine psychosis.

Permit me a soap-box moment at this time to excoriate this MSM horseshit with rusty heel spurs and a switchblade cockring.

My first year roommmate at U. Puget Sound, Justin, was a hardcore gamer.

He progressively went to class less and less over the course of the year. That was directly proportional with the amount of Quake 2 he played. When I went to sleep often times, he was deathmatching (read: blowing the snot out of other people online). When I woke up, he was sometimes in the same position, maybe with some more soda cans. Maybe. He lived to game, because there wasn't much else in his life.

This boy logged 13,000 some odd minutes of Quake 2 in the first semester.

He qualified as hardcore.

Now: me playing Earthbound a few hours every other day does NOT make me "hardcore." I and every single other self-respecting old school and new skool gamer will stand united in this opinion. It insults the fine, slightly obssessed people who sink a thousand to thousands of dollars a year into buying upgraded equipment, who lack sufficient vitamin D, who have more gamer forum posts than this journal has entries.

Balls-to-the-walls dedication for any hobby requires both balls and walls. And "those who play three or more hours per week" does not a wall for "hardcore" make.

This has been brought to you by 20 minutes of my life I'll never get back.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.