Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Detroit trip continued

2006-06-21 - 7:59 p.m.

Am currently--metaphorically--standing on a subway platform, waiting to see if Nicholas will be getting off the A18 to skip over to my express route to southern Whatever.

We're supposed to meet Tania for dinner, then to see her apartment. It's on a golf course. I'm not sure what it means either. I'm looking forward to the dinner portion of the evening. Dinner will mean Roosevelt's. Roosevelt's means grilled type stuff.

On that count, for lunch and dinner, I've mainly been eating closet salad eater food: Cass cafe turkey pita sandwiches with lettuce and spinach replacing tomato, Cass cafe HAM pita sandwiches with lettuce and tomato. Today I fucked around with some chicken strips and fries for kicks. It's over on the deli literally around the corner.

I have yet to be at the downtown "premiere" internet cafe that is literally next door. I mean if I were 12 feet tall, laid myself horizontal, or had a 6 foot tamarin sport one of their enormous erections, I could touch the back wall of the place.

I have yet to be there, like I said. I prefer guaranified Sobe things.

* * *

What have I been doing during this vacation?

Well:

*I went out photographing one of these afternoons. It was a downtown meandering for several hours. To the worn-down portions. To Honkeytown. To alleyways in and about said town, and beyond. A schizophrenic man was preaching on a street corner.

"Continuous devil!" He mumbled shouted to himself. As I walked off I heard a trailing, "yes you!"

It wouldn't be the first time.

Downtown isn't at all scary during the day. The most that happened was an angry Latino saying excuse me at me twice. I opted for a hand-wave and a purposefully tight smile. He sortof mumbled away. I'm tight with random people saying hello to me. But money and directions and blow-jobs and whatever would be a drain.

*Sitting around re-reading Neuromancer. I appreciate the book much more now.

*Watching lots of movies both indie and non. Green State is the current one.

*Corresponding hardcore with a new friend I met about a week ago or so. She's currently outside of her usual location climate. Vacationing/trying something new out. I think. That's been several hours most afternoons. You know how sudden friendships are like and the contents. Not the arrangement of said contents, but at least one knows the toy box particulars inside that context.

*St. Louis Hardrocker Girl got back to me about a potential gig in her city. Her friend is trying to hook up some art space for my ass. Her band would play. I'm honestly surprised something that was agreed on while both of us were thoroughly drunk during a conference worked out. But then she did repeat the offer at least 12 times. Endearing. Potentially interesting.

*Nicholas too is endearing but definetely interesting. It's like having family around. We joke, we laugh for extended periods about whatever and however in wherevers. Eventually, we'll find an art space or three around here to pimp my shit out. Tom from American Mars likes my stuff enough to probably play that deal. I like medium sized city gigs like that. New York is too pretentious and overwrought, LA is too big, Chicago doesn't like experimental.

*Dennis Cooper recently posted some of interior shots of Nicholas' cat, Dot, on his blog site. People seem enamored or otherwise ask, "what the fuck is that?" of the propellor blade or the prosthetic leg. These shots being mine and noted as such, I'm happy with the response so far. 'What the fuck?' and 'I love that space' are my favorite genres of response. I guess to photography and to myself in general.

- - -

I have my current plan in mind. Onward to conversation, then potentially picking Nicholas up from wherever the current location is.

Life is good. Left hip kinda hurts, but I'm fairly happy.

*I have discovered that Chinese places never give you enough pancakes for Mu Shu. Then you ask for more. Then they charge you extra. That is not cool. But the plum sauce keeps me coming back.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.