Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

This past weekend: friday night drinking; Tat's b-day party

2006-07-06 - 4:20 p.m.

(Written partly on 7/2. Finished partly on 7/6)

7/2

Somehow I got sick yesterday. I haven't been sick in at least a year. So I'm sitting down, like usual, underneath a fan in the afternoon, kinda like usual, but I am not in a cafe. I am at my apartment. Now I know why I spend my time in makeshift caves 'til the evening.

Let's make the weekend quick.

This past Friday

Going to the Union Terrace is a boom or bust deal. With the scattered termite clatter of a thousand people who think drinking and eating by the water is a good, inevitably you have to either like or dislike the dynamic. You must also supply your own verve. It's as if you need a shield of cool to counteract all of the middle-agers and kids around you, all of which magically seem to have no jobs. This is what I surmissed at 5pm, anyway.

We ended up drinking and eating until around 8. The nomadic drinking spirit wasn't with us. Drew had also invited a whole contingent of people he knows from the imaging facility. I'm all for new people. However those new people have to at least attempt to be social with the main group. There's painfully awkward slightly cute bushy eyebrow girl, obnoxious aussie girl, ass-slapping or otherwise random touching about the back girl, and who the fuck cares. There was also another group of people who joined us. None of us could figure out just why or how this came to be. But they did use our chairs most effectively.

I ended up being the last of the main group and heading out to the woods. Woods by sunset helps clear my head. After that it was a night of reading or flash games or something.

Saturday

It was cool. I hung out and had thai food with a loner friend of mine over here, Scott. He's older than most of the peeps in my particular class. And we're both the curious, off-color humored brooding types. Like amuses like, I guesses. We then proceeded to rent a fuckload of animated whatnot.

I would have never guessed he was into anime and animated stuff. We picked up Spike and Mike's animation festival thingy, which was rockin'. We also got "Strings." The concept was thoughtfully original: a fantasy story of warring peoples set in a world of marionettes that know they are marionettes. Like when the brooding father figure of the protagonists kills himself, he cuts his 'head string', after which he dies. It's absolutely beautiful and the puppeteering skill is impressive. The story has been done before but it has some original elements I enjoy.

We also rented Fushigi Yugi. I'd heard of it, didn't know anything about it. Scott was likewise. We watched. Let it be known far and wide that there is a giant goddamn razor somewhere in existentialville. On one side is Japanese TV shows that suck. On the other is a rolicking band of cheaply produced but tasty times, like french fries fried with cheese inside them and around them (which is my own sick invention of 5 seconds ago).

And for this series, well, let's just say Fushigi Yugi should be abbreviated to "F-Yu." You have no idea of the epileptic laughter that would cause at an anime or gaming convention. Neither do I, but I can guess. I guess.

In the evening was Tat's 25th bday party. I will summarize thusly:

7/6 (I know, I love me)

*I came at the beginning. Liz, Tat's roommate and the chick I'd met at Jared's b-day a year ago, was cooking stuff. Compared to last time we were awkward. It was cute.

*We all ate food

*Mom called to mention there were tornados a-comin'

*Flecks of tornado weather did a-come.

*I watched the Chapelle Show with Brian's brother (a decent beer-savvy fellow) for an episode.

*Down to the firepit with everyone to eat smores and make small-talk.

*Down to the docks to hang out, with me and Brian's brother bringing everyone down eventually.

*Up to hang out in the backyard hammock set away from the fire pit and between some trees, near more trees still. I enjoyed how the light bounced along the trees. Something soothing and familiar about it.

*Everyone gradually either went to the beach over yonder to swim half-naked or watch them. Somehow I led the way for the spectators. Nicole may be a bit on the trite and seemingly air-headed side, but damn that's hotness right there.

*I went home after getting several merit badges from Tat. It'd been a camping themed party, so people could score them for tie-dyeing t-shirts, getting naked, canoeing, etc. I'll leave it up to your imagination to figure out what I got.

Sunday

Not a damn thing.

* * *

This concludes our recent update.

The final length of the PNI conference--now close to a month and a half old--WILL be finished soon.

It's not like I planned on being sick. Although working from home and not having to be in my matchbox of an office to give the impression I'm working when I'm really working the same amount at home or in that thing is nice.

Commas need a break too. And periods

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.