Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Side A - this past saturday and sunday

2006-07-19 - 8:05 p.m.

Hey, so I already updated about last weekend--because I do that all the time.

But I figured I should mention this weekend too.

* * *

Saturday

The highlight, as usual, was the Inferno.

I got there around 9:30. Next to no one had shown up, just a few odds and ends. The nurse practicioner by day, slightly androgenized but hot bartendress by night was working. As usual. We said hi, I asked for a screw, she gave it to me in a glass.

Somewhere into a white russian I never intended to order but was semi-glad I got, some more folk I recognized came in and mingled with the odds. The ends not so much, which consisted of one of the middle aged non-scene guys that come. You know the kind: desperately quiet, quietly desperate, or just some guy that belongs in a bar from the 70's.

In pretty short order after that--as is the case with most every inferno outing--I go out on the dance floor. Slightly unbalanced at first, I found my usual groove. Every one of the regular dancers has their own rhythm. There is 'twirl prettily this way and that either slow or fast with appropriate minimal hand movements' girl. There's the often bare-chested goth king (I think) who otherwise wears a black 'obey me' shirt, who does a sortof sweeping step, arms out and to the sides thing. Giving me a run for me own money is black mesh-shirt dude. Black mesh-shirt dude knows how to do those mid-song lulls like a sunufabitch; supremely good gesticulation and choreography.

And then there's me. I'd best describe my general style as 'snare drum rhythm, heavy hand and finger work, faux choreography.' Like I'll do some shit to the right, then to the left in roughly the same fashion. This helps in covering up when I backstep, which is more than I'd like. Given that I'm on my toes most of the time, though, it's tough.

I try something slightly new every week, and if I see something I like, I attempt to incorporate it. I've rather fancied the Incan masked man's dance moves. Usually stationery with the feet--the opposite of me--but his arm and elbow work are great. And the guy rolls back onto the dance floor sometimes. I can do that from aikido, but fuck if I'm gonna look neat collecting dirt and spilled booze onto my shit.

Besides the dancing there's people watching in-between my 30-40 minute sets. So while I sweat like a boxer and suck water down, I either hover near the dark alcove, one of the standing tables, or the very edge of the main bar. This night we had:

*Chick who mouths lyrics a lot and either knows one of the DJs or likes kissing random human jukeboxes. As I left that night she said something in passing to me. It was either 'nice dancing' or grable dagoba. It was meant to be a subtle passing comment. Not really caring about clarification even if she was cute, though, I obliviously walked on.

*Middle-aged dude in the lit alcove opposite the bar. I pity the guy. He comes in, gets a drink, sits there, watches the movie they have playing silent in dub in back (between the two side bars), and occasionally gets onto the dance floor. It's ok to be an "elder goth" if you look the part..but if you look conventional and old, man, just ignore city.

*Speaking of 'elders,' the shambling older gentleman who looks like an english punk in his 60's was there. I hadn't seen him a few times before. I really like the guy for some reason; seems to have a good attitude and the younger childer talk it up with him outside or in. He had on a black skimpy dress that suited him quite well. We nodded to each other at the beginning of the night. I think he's either polite or he respects that I'm young and possibly stupid enough to dance hard for 45 minutes straight. When I say I sweat like a boxer, I am not kidding.

*Out on the dance floor I saw Lee in passing. We exchanged one of those "hey I might vaguely recall who you are but I'm busy being over here" vibes. Club culture. I tried finding her to say hi later on, but she'd disappeared.

My feet ached, my left shoulder was slightly out of place, and I craved a shower. So I went home. And did those bits. Yeah.

Sunday night/morning

I got a sudden burst of inspiration: I hadn't done photography since Detroit! And I figured what the hell?

So I headed over to the Monona terrace and, in around there, took shots. I'm in the process of processing them, but as an overview I: did some trees and moon over the lakefront stuff, straight under-the-bridge architecture, parking lot at 5 stories whatnot, and some more architecture with dramatic lighting. There was nearly no one around. It was exquisite.

I did end up getting just 4 hours of sleep, on account of I thought that I had assays to do at 9:30. This was not the case. I kicked my own ass when I learned this after drinking coffee and having my early morning 'I don't care if it's sugar and fat, I am tired' pastry.

I already told you all this. But it bears repeating.

* * *

See the 'b' side for more, daddio.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.