Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Leather and Lace: Fuck It, Fine, I'll Go

2006-08-05 - 8:41 p.m.

My better judgement and I had an arm-wrestling contest today about whether to go to Leather and Lace at the Inferno.

Saying that I "won" is both right and questionable.

I have nothing else to do but write or talk to this or that person. Well and good, but I want more stimulation. The trouble is, L&L will be packed with throngs of couples enacting predictable courtship behavior in an alternative gothy venue.

Not that I have anything wrong with PVC or leather-clad young things make drunken asses of themselves for my amusement. My objection is strictly ballroom: how many motherfuckers does this one negotiate with on the dance floor? I'm guessing I'll have to pick out the upper stage for anything less than a box. Then again, given that the lighting arrangement there is discernably darker, it may be that there are already rum dolls and flesh fiends there doing their thing.

One saving grace is that we apparently have 2005's best DJ in Madison spinning tonight. (What the fuck that means I haven't clue 1). And the other grace?

Need you ask?

Drinks are 1.50 from 9 to 10pm, like always. This feels like a 3 cocktail night, and through a series of silly events I have 15 bucks in my pants.

(That's 5 bucks from the ATM, then 10 bucks from writing a check while shopping at the market--which sounds far more mundane and leisurely than it actually was. Saturdays + Health Food Store = Too Many Goddamn Creatures).

Just thought I'd let you know not to leave the light on. Hell I can see in the dark anyway so there wouldn't be much use in the first place.

* * *

My boots are fading fast. This requires shopping online for new ones that look evil but are functional. Club wear and functional are like me and women I date: great in certain situations, completely balls otherwise.

But they'll do for now.

* * *
I'm kinda curious if I'll see Astrophysicist/Greg there. Saw him on Wednesday. We talked for a good hour about X-ray and infrared means of discerning atmosphere composition of stars with really strong solar winds. He also talked at me for awhile about the current middle east imbroglio, for which I offered my two cents. We seem to jive because we're both intellectuals. That and he's physically broken by nerve damage, so naturally there'd be some kinship directed toward me. That's just the sort of person who finds me.

And then there's the chick I semi-occasionally see there who is kinda cute. Not the one Greg knows--far, far too anorexic and poisonous for my taste. This one is faintly awkward but seems nice. Not that I'd ever introduce myself, but I do appreciate visuals.

Oh, and perhaps Dorian Gray might show up. I love Dorian; trips me out almost as much as Frankenstein's Mosher. I'm guessing L&L ain't his thing, but somehow he adds...I dunno...a certain humanity to the place I like.

Less rambling, more dressing (although one of these days I'll write out a full list of all the regulars I am familiar with)

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.