Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Not that I'm looking forward to it...

2007-02-16 - 10:19 p.m.

Now that the holiday after-school special is over.

# # # #

This is going to be some present shit, then (finally) the ending of my vacation in December.

I'll even throw in every other occasion I've never gotten back to. Because what the fuck is a part of a balanced breakfast.

# # # #

My advisor is 80% cool. He doesn't talk down to me, listens to my ideas (and promptly forgets most of them but still), usually gives me shit only when I deserve it, and he even likes to joke around.

There's that other 20%, some of which I got today. We'd agreed on a kind of capstone for my current project. Thing is we were supposed to meet to talk about the specifics again. I get an e-mail saying it's going to be like this and that. It works, it's do-able, it's not a bad plan; it's what I did during my first year. It's probably not workable because of tight logistical issues, but it's the best scenario for the experiment. Thing is, this is my experiment and we were supposed to discuss things, lay out a plan--and he went over my head. He's my advisor, it's his resources, can't really argue. But this is a collaborative effort. That bothered me.

Most things are good. The systems neuroscience class isn't as big a time sink as molecular and cellular was. The material could be offered in a more streamline way, but my undergrad neuroanatomy prof spoiled us. Nearly kicked our asses with the overload, but it was all laid out smooth.

Heard back from my local promoter and one of the other photographers involved in the spring show. I'm not thrilled about the 'things you'd normally overlook' theme, but it has given me reason to post a lot of stuff stewing in my archives. Actually some of it I'd failed to appreciate. Figured that it wasn't blingy enough to publish. I don't care about getting a reputation on DeviantArt, though. Skewed demographic. We're meeting sometime next week or the week after to talk about the specifics. Supposedly it's now 4 photographers, possibly 5. I guess that means having to buy less of my pieces framed, but I had been looking forward to putting up 10 or so. We'll see.

That's brought up the issue of where I'm going to put all these frames. I've got some ideas, like the front area. It'll mean having to save the packaging and bubble wrap. It can be done. I've been thinking also of setting up shop in a few coffee houses. Some of my trippier fantasy stuff or the frankenphotography would go well out here. Granted I'm busy with work, but then how hard is it to have an hour or two to talk with people during a reception? Not much. Processing orders for prints would be a bitch, though, and sending them straight to DV is a profit sink.

I emailed the chick I got set up on a blind date with today. No response yet. She's a friend of friend of a friend. You remember Thomas, the friend from college who crashed here? He's got a friend in town who somehow needed to set her friend up on a blind date. She's been described as a "great girl!" or a "really cool" girl. I checked my 'female to male' Urban English dictionary. I think it means she's overweight, but that only got 25 thumbs up to 23 thumbs down. The other cafe goings or, in one case, lunch have gone fine; nothing to wow me, but fine. I've only been on a handful of blind dates, so at the least this'll be another 'oh...oh wow...my penis just went negative inches on me. Damn!" sort of story.

Haven't heard from Nicholas in awhile. Or a lot of the old crew here, come to think. Oh hell, that's right, I keep forgetting to call or e-mail people.

Well this present update has lost all appeal. Here's to hoping I can pull off finishing my vacation post this weekend.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.