Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

I didn't forget mother's day!

2007-05-13 - 9:57 p.m.

So, while the stressed out update of about 30 minutes ago is still definetely here, I suddenly realized I had to do something for Mom and Gram for Mother's Day. So I decided on a letter.

Maybe this is too personal for this thing, but it's not as if strangers stumble on this journal anymore:

* * *

Mom and Gram,

In amidst this bum-rush to equip my army before assaulting the castle of a comprehensive Systems Neuroscience exam tomorrow, a couple of things have pulled me back from the situation. In the stress and jitters of this current time, I can reflect back to eras in my life that were just as tough.

I remember sitting in a Denny's in Seattle, Washington while Mom and I casually picked at chicken tenders and fries. I was trying so valiantly not to look completely upset, but I kinda did anyway. And I remember the way you looked at me with re-assurance, that sortof "yeah, this does suck, but you will get through this." A roommate addicted to online game playing, some curious folk, and being on a conservative campus for a semester later, I was a pro at college--and there was Mom, valiantly coming up so we could meander back down the west coast. Those road trips are two of the most fond memories I have.

I mean that Chinese place in Willetts, ye gods.

Even way back when I was a wee thing in the joyful day care of classic rock in Mom's truck/car while dropping off stained glass at TM Cobb, I felt save and relatively happy.

Certainly I have gotten myself into many strange predicaments with fascinating people. I did the majority of this whatnot as a teenage lad. I even did this in a few far away states (and somehow helped reconnect telephone service in at least one of these cases). Gram has shown an excess of patience for my more...learning-rich moments. She's been there for me too, from dropping me off in front of a loud goth club on saturday night, all the way to ferrying us to Great Grandma's, Gram always figured prominently in my adventures criss-crossing the breadth of LA wildlife. Fauna one sometimes did or did not fawn for, surely, but I could always rely on that white Ford Probe to deliever me from the excesses, successes, reckless-nesses (I don't know), and other situations I deposited myself in.

We are a family bound by cars! I've just discovered a theme, bear with me.

That togetherness/fetching me from odd situations feeling came again when I came back from my several year stint in grad school to see Acacia and Daniel married. I also reignited my memories of the valley, and of course saw the two people I love most dearly again (being you two or else my ass is in hot water for Mother's Day). And you paid for a not insubstantial amount of Bailey's and sushi to keep me happy. Bless you both, for that was awesome.

Seriously, I could not have done better for a set of parents than the two of you. Believe me, I met my father again for the first time and this was made quite clear.

So while this isn't a card per se for Mother's Day, I did want to push aside studying for a chunk of time and honor the two people who helped vault me into where I am now. I'm a published scientist, an accomplished photograph with his first show under his belt (where most people thought my stuff was fantastic and strange), and I even write still.

So, to the best mom and grandma in the region and world, I give you both my deepest love, happiest thanks, and most sincere well-wishes.

Happy Mother's Day!

Your Often Times Disappearing But Eternally Devoted Son and Grandson,

Auriel

* * *

That did help me feel better. Back to exam studying.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.