Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Back in Detroit 2007-8

2008-01-02 - 2:35 a.m.

Emily left for Peru back a few days ago. I dropped her off in Toledo, where Jeff S. drove her to Chicago for a plane to Lima. Things are fine between us, just something of a misunderstanding on my part. I miss her.

Toledo is about an hour from Oberlin, my alma mater. I decided to pay the place a visit. I've found I have a thing for nostalgia--plus I wanted to go to the Mandarin for lunch. I remember The Mandarin, but some reminders are helpful.

So I went to the middle of Ohio, found out that Oberlin is southwest and not southeast of Ohio, and did lunch. Apparently the place has japanese food. And the sesame chicken is different and gave me gas. The dumplings are still the same, though. The interior was so familiar. I thought about going inside the Feve, but I didn't bother.

Everything was eerily familiar. No one was on campus. Winter lockdown. I saw some college kids around places, though.

I tromped around near most of the dorms I lived in, not remembering most of the names of others. Talcott. Some dorm that begins with a 'B' that I can't remember, even Mt. Oberlin (i.e. a 20 foot hill). I visited the tree I'd occasionally sat at or interacted with back in college. Got my shoes sufficiently muddied.

It was an interesting but sad experience. I figured maybe I'd never really let go of the place. Ends up being that I had a lot of memories looking at various places. I guess this is a good send-up to re-visiting the place in 6 months for my 5th year reunion.

Since Emily left I've been staying with Nicholas. Joanna is still hanging out here, hoping to finally spend time with her 2 full-time job boyfriend. I did some photography today with him over near the abandoned subway station. Gorgeous stuff. There's an abandoned building nearby that's equally beautiful. Nicholas and I did some exploring in there. Tomorrow we're heading back when the light is better; might drag along Joanna for a female model. She's been wanting to do some work in such a setting, so it seems mutually beneficial. Mostly wish I had an up-to-date camera, but eh.

Nicholas is doing the snoring like a buzzsaw deal, it's 3am, and I should sleep.

Oh, and we're going to see Tanya tomorrow to get Nick's rent check amidst other stuff. I may just get to use the sushi eating set that my advisor got me for Christmas.

I'm looking forward to going back to Madison about as much as an anal root canal. Vacation is nice, what can I say.

Year New Happy, incidentally.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.