Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Very Ape

2008-01-26 - 5:16 p.m.

Work:

*Advisor is processing/sitting on (?) sections of three separate papers we'll be publishing hopefully sooner than later. Working on a presentation of survey data for 'Club Postdoc' in two weeks.

*Did a good amount of studying for prelims before switching to the above two things. I'll be getting back to that soon. I so far have that scheduled for May. Maybe sooner. Maybe later. That'll be a straight month of writing 4 20 page papers. Banzai, motherfucker.

Art:

*Landed a show at Espresso Royale near the Capitol for April. Trying to decide if I want to pimp my stuff to some place else, considering that Jessica likely has an end of the year show or something else'll come up.

*Took a lot of shots in Detroit, as I mentioned previously. Haven't published any due to lack of time.

*Thinking about using my sharper image giftcard to buy a slightly better camera. I won't be able to use my specialty lenses, but it's not a bad idea.

*Nicholas was able to get me a day on Dennis Cooper's blog to present my stuff to his cadre. Very pleasant and sometimes insightful comments from people. A group of folks want me to sign on as the Director of Photography for a film they want to produce, 'Rallo'. I'm not familiar with the production, but people are currently trying to get funding for it. Various scripts exist. It'd be an art piece with male themes as a heavy component. I'm not sure where I'd have time to skulk around Detroit and frame scenes for a feature length film, but it sounds interesting. Maybe there's a two month period where I can do that by day, work by night. Doubt Emily would particularly care for that. We'll see.

Game:

*Our director had a child in late December, so I've been doing PR for a long time now and processing some new writers. He named Zini and I co-directors for the time being. Basically I can make News posts and do some other stuff. Really his presence hasn't been felt for awhile. I still have full creative license with the game, though.

*We should actually be done with the goddamn thing this year. It depends on how many worldbuilders and writers we have. I'm at about 75% done with the main plot/quest of the game. It's roughly 150-175,000 words in length at the moment. I'll break 200k by the time it's done. It's definitely a good feeling to almost be done with the thing, as much fun as it's been. You can only force yourself to write for 4-5 hours at a time, cross-reference with background material, tie various sub-components of the plot in to other points, and make all of the notes necessary for the script master (Zini) to appropriately implement everything.

You've never lived until you've written 10k of words in one sitting and 1/4 of them are directions, counter conditionals, party conditionals, etc.

Relationship:

*My 1st year anniversary with Emily is coming up. I'm new to this long term relationship thing. Or this anniversary thing. She's suggested we go to Chicago into a hotel. I think that's a ludicrous waste of 60-70 dollars.

*Apparently our mutual friend, M, got engaged. This is a revelation. I know of many people my age who've gotten married. No one has mentioned the prospect with Emily. I guess people around my circles don't do that old school social pressure thing. Then again, beyond a few close friends, I generally treat people like they don't exist or I put forward such palpable disdain that they don't bother to say anything to me.

(I hate most of these two-legged fuckers as it is. I see most everyone as an obstacle to negotiate, destroy, or otherwise avoid or ignore. People just seem like dynamic objects that produce noises.)

Miscellaneous:

*I bought a new bed. It was 700 dollars. Plus 60 for shipping up into my apartment. Emily is extremely pleased. She's wanted me to get a bed for ages. I've wanted to get a new bed because I've been sleeping on an air mattress with a giant lump in the middle. I.E. The fucker has cancer. The bed is very comfortable. It was 700 dollars.

*I went cross-country skiing with Emily today. My feet hurt like hell at the beginning (due to having mostly flat feet), but it got easier at the end. Going downhill was slightly scary, but I got alright at it later. We'll probably be doing something with our mutual friend Kate and her friend tonight. We basically laid around yesterday and watched Batman Begins, made dinner, etc.

*I only went to the Inferno once while Emily was away, but it was great. I do miss it. I'm going to try to go either Wednesday or Saturday of this coming week.

Disclaimer:

This public service announcement has been brought to you by the agent orange.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.