Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Start of prelims

2008-05-05 - 11:48 p.m.

I started my first prelim question today. As repeated back story, my prelims consist of writing four 15-20 page papers over 4 non-consecutive weeks. After I finish these, I will be a dissertator, finish my last project and publish it eventually, and get my Ph.D.

It's been a long, long journey, and even now I know some few of you are still out there, still reading. What is it now, 8 years in academia? 9 eventually, but I'll at least be in my 20's still.

I'm happy so far with this first question from B.P. I thought his was going to be the toughest. Instead, my reasonable guess about what he'd send as a question was right. It's all about long-term memory, basically, which I already know a lot about.

I got maybe 3-4 hours of non-continuous sleep last night from the nervousness, even after 2 Unisom. Despite a groggy start, though, I ended up working through the whole day in a pretty good mood and writing 4 pages. I've got another 6 days on the paper, so at this rate I'd be done ahead of time. That's a mighty nice prospect to look forward to. Granted, the last part of the question is about a phenomenon I'm not entirely recalling accurately, but I can do it.

This is actually a treat in a way. I do miss seeing Emily, even if we see each other every night nowadays. But not having to worry about data, conferences, meetings, or (especially) dealing with people is wonderful. It's literally just me, two laptops to read and write on, and the view of the woods outside. Things got especially good when I discovered an instrumental piano only station on Pandora today. Just what I've been looking for.

I feel very accomplished today. I actually feel proud of myself. That is a fine, rare, fine thing.

So let's see if I can read the rest of this article before bed (which I guess I don't need to finish, but eh).

- - -

I brought my stuff from my solo show back to my place. It was good to put my stuff up, all like that. The one drawback with a coffee shop showing is that you can't really gauge what people think. Andrea, the art director, did assure me the response was really positive. And frankly the person who came after me was doing some strange wavy camera thing that reminds me of testicles trying to finger paint.

- - -

Never thought I'd see 'Across the Universe', but so I did yesterday as part of my last hurrah with Emily. Lucy bore a resemblance to Tasha. Made me think about that part of my life.

Kinda curious. Used to be I knew scads of people here on Diaryland, but all I really did in the physical world was science and photography. Now I have a handful of friends left, but they're largely, well, physical. Not enough time to get to know more people, or re-establish a lot of old ties. S'pose that's how it goes in America.

[/Clacky Thoughts]

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.