Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

A Tale for Jack

2008-09-11 - 12:10 a.m.

He grazed the ink-dabbed pages with his fingers, looking out over the shoreline. A tome of words murmured below sunken eyes. There was faint laughter in some, strange tales of bisexual liaisons, and the constancy of dramatic revelation. They were a thousand conversations, imperfectly cataloged, more themes than instances in the casual way facts held hands and walked together.

The smell of the sea rose as the dark sky fell. The spray tempted him to retire from the oaken study. He walked along stations of varying organization, offering attention to a seven foot plant that dominated the foyer.

Sand rose up to cake his feet like baked chicken. He pointed his toes through the gritty earth in easy steps. The sound of the surf stopped his attention as it gently droned. He imagined looking at himself sideways, years of sleep deprivation gilded in the dark circles that touched his eyes. He had spent many of those days speaking, through writing, to sentient ghosts he occasionally met in the physical world. Somehow it never really mattered if it happened.

He scanned the horizon as a practiced hobby. Some day, he thought, a ship with white sails would come, some vessel with news from a life he had long since abandoned for singular pursuits both social and isolation. Yet the longing came. Even now he had casually flipped through four years ago, two years, six. He wondered if they still remembered the events much the same way he had penned them.

An imperceptible mass arose from the depths. It was square at first, forming definition like vague semaphore. He sat down in the sand and remembered a tune, the same way the band 'Placebo' played it:

Jackie left on a cold, dark night
Telling me he'd be home
Sailed the seas for a hundred years
And left me all alone

Now I've been dead for twenty years
I've been washing the sand with my ghostly tears
Searching the shores for my Jackie-oh

And I remember the day that the young man came
Said, your Jackie's gone, he is lost in the rain
And I ran to the beach
And laid me down

You're all wrong, I said
And they stared to the sand
That man knows the sea like the back of his hand
He'll be back some time
Laughing at you

And I've been waiting all this time
For my man to come, take his hand in mine
And lead me away
To unsailed shores

I've been washing the sand with my salty tears
Searching the shore these long years
And I'll walk the sea forever more
'til I find my Jackie-oh
Jackie-oh
Jackie-oh
Jackie-oh

Every time he listened he thought of that self same man. Down through the years of witches, secret societies, shamans, and a host of strange people he had most auspiciously cultivated few extended interactions with, the sweat-licked desperado of darkened beauty and tragedy seemed to hint at the magic of the world. In red words set and stained more than written, Jack elaborated on a sex-soaked drive into the carnal celestines and broken angels, of satisfied dissatisfaction, of beaming joy that was utterly foreign.

He missed his friend.

The shape became more shapes, unto a ship, and mounted higher in the growing pitch of evening. Shortly it emerged along the surf and came closer still. It was him.

As the colors were struck and a familiar breeze warmed the autumn air, there were twin smiles unseen.

Two ghosts forgotten by time could dance again, for a little while.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.