Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

The job switch is a building with lights at night

2008-11-12 - 12:24 a.m.

I'm helping Dr. Silver and the CR study by packaging up the results I've found, slapping on a homemade bow of prose, and slipping it in to the 'we've been using your money effectively' NIH package.

Today was mostly trying to figure out whether there needs to be overlap between two kinds of analyses I've been doing. One just looks at brain atrophy in old-age monkeys, and whether expression of a certain inflammatory protein exacerbates that atrophy in regions that make sense. The other set specifically tests whether a treatment condition that modifies levels of this protein would have an effect on brain atrophy.

So one is purely associational/correlational, and the other is the effect of condition on the expression of this protein and how that influences atrophy.

Yeah I think about this stuff all day and night, so it's difficult to succinctly summarize.

Anyhow, I was of the impression that there needed to be at least some overlap between the two analysis types. As I've thought about it, though, I can come up with a reason for why there wouldn't be any such overlap. Which is good, because there isn't any.

So I'm going to make some figures with pretty brain pictures tomorrow, write up some text, and do my part to show that the project is cool. After that, I can start writing up the results for a publication. If it gets out before the monkey study I've now been doing for over 2 years, I will simultaneously laugh and kill.

That's all at the moment. I need to do more writing. Nearly finished with the second to last shrine quest for U9R. They alone represent 15-20 hours of gameplay. I don't know what I was thinking when I wrote the main plot as big as it ended up being. But it's nearly done, so hey.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.