Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Mother and Son

2009-05-23 - 12:50 a.m.

While I've referenced my Mom now and then these past...[checks archive page], um, 8 years? Really? These past 8 years, I thought it'd be fun to paste a very long e-mail she sent, and my reply.

She is in italics. I am in bold.

* * *


Greetings beloved son ! I recieved no answer to the text I sent you so I thought I would try an e-mail as well. We are O.K. G-mom is still getting over being sick and I am in the middle of renovating the hall bathroom ....crazy ? maybe ...It all started when I removed mom's shower doors at her request. We both decided that I should do the same thing in my bathroom. Of course had we remembered that the king of do it stupid myself instead of find out how to do it right or even hire someone else( aka Grumpa) had installed the thing we would have thought twice . But flushed with the success in the other bathroom and the stellar results I forged on ahead.....Well it turns out that the assembly that holds the doors in place was not only screwed in place as it should be but hehad also stuck it down with this crap called mastick. It is waterproof it's true but the stuff never cures and stays sticky and gooey,kind of a combo of super glue silicone and peanut butter in texture. To top it all off he apparently didn't use thinset for setting the tiles either....he used you guessed it Mastick ! ! ! only the concrete absorbed most of the mixture being thirsty and porous so when I removed the assembly ..... yes the tiles came up stuck more firmly to the aluminium than the cement . So since the top tiles to the side of the shower were already removed the temptation to cut the side down presented itself. Well I had Shane come over to install some trellises since he has a hammer drill for the stone wall holes and I needed help building the floating trellis assembly. Shane went in to use the bathroom and of course noticed the shower. I told him mom said we should probably just glue the tiles back down and he pointed out that three months larter I would wish that I had decided to cut it down. I told him that I would really like too but I didn't have anyone that I knew who had a concrete saw and knew how to cut such a thick wall down. He told me that he could do it and all he needed was a 50 dollar sawblade for concrete ! I got excited and mom who noticed that I was taking more showers now that I was using her shower which is a lot safer than mine was ,gave it the thumbs up and just three days later we were doing demo! Well we were concerned about matching 50 year old tile and mom had the bright idea that while we were at it we should just take out the part of the counter top that served no purpose and knock out the false wall in the corner that had always bugged her and served no purpose but taking space away from a small room. So now the side of the "tub" is cut down and the de tiled countertop is cut off and the corner is opened up. this took only three days! ! ! Now all we have to do is put it back together again...Weeeehah ! : < D Oh yeah all of this started thanks to the fact that mom finally bought vines for the back yard and I needed help attaching the trellises because I wore myself out digging out not one not two but three stumps when I was digging the holes in the right place instead of half ass settling like mom wanted me to do. She didn't realize that the palm tree stumps and the jasmine vine stumps were finally rotted enough to remove . So now you know what I did to amuse myself for the last month . And by the way yes I am feeling better....Ha Ha H a . Other people grieve I get busy oh yeah did I tell you Uncle Vic died a few weeks ago? Aunt Billie seems to be holding up well but Vic had been sick with COPD for a very long time so they saw it coming he even quit eating voluntarily he was so tired of being sick and he knew they wouldn't ever get to come home again. Died in his sleep so he went peaceful. Well enough of that ....mom says that I can even get a new toilet and sink too! I am also building a floating patio back by the pool equipment so everything stays clean and safe.Life is B U S Y around here. She has sewing projects for me once it gets too hot outside to function later this summer. I am so happy about that since I have the back room all set up with my sewing cabinets and haven't had a chance to use it. Oh G-mom just asked me to tell you that if you like we can send you a ring of Grumpas since Allison mailed it to us recently. It is a Lapiz Lazuli of nice quality deep blue set in gold. You could get it re-sized to wear or you could sell it if you like. Do you want us to mail it to you? I would wait until after the 30th of this month to do so though because the 6th starts Mercury retrograde. Flowers would be nice for Mothers day for G-ma the game sounds cool for me if it's free or cheap. Well I gotta go now LOVE AND BLESSINGS ...HUGS N' KISSES MOMSKY N' GRAMSKY : < * Mmmmmwah

* * *

Hey Mom,

I'm sorry I didn't reply to this e-mail back when you originally sent it. I only have access to the internet through work now, and I figured I'd tuck it away for later. Later ended up being a fair bit later.

I hadn't realized such drama could be had with bathroom renovations! The foundation for the doors was screwed in placed and had mastick, you say? I've never heard of the latter, but I'll have to keep it in mind if I ever need to dangle ping-pong balls of a ceiling or something.

As I read on, two things became clear to me: 1) home renovations are even more involved than I already thought; 2) I'm pretty sure I'll just buy a condo some day; houses sound like too much work.

How did putting all the stuff back together again work out? Have you considered guest starring on the home improvement channel? Have you considered hosting a show on a home improvement channel?

I'm intrigued by this 'floating patio' idea. I had no idea such a thing existed.

I'm looking forward to getting Grandfather's ring, but I'll also need to do some extensive clearing on that thing. I'd imagine it must have decades of his energy resonance about it. Hopefully it'll prove of good use.

I'll try and see if I can find the game on the Newgrounds site. I knew I should have written down its name.

Lovely to hear from you as always. Again, sorry this is a few weeks late. I hope your Memorial Day is awesome!

* * *

When I called for Mother's Day, she and gran seemed apathetic.

It made me feel sad.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.