Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Three different parts of life, all going well

2009-08-01 - 4:44 a.m.

I've neglected my electronic mindbox for a good while. I suppose I always want to write the sorts of entries I used to, then realize that murdering an hour is not as easy as it used to be.

But I drank a good, good deal, woke up 40 minutes ago, and decided I wasn't going to fall back asleep pondering silly things in bed.

I'm looking out of Emily's living room window, across the way to the corner apartment of a high rise office building. It's the one with wood paneling along the top, and soft 40 watt lights that are moderately less painful than their louder cousins. I can see the lone car or two speed down John Nolen Dr., off into a midnight sunset.

Life is good. I haven't written a useful summary in awhile, so here it is.

My relationship with Emily continues on and I've become quite fond of her. At some point or another, it may be that she moves to Washington, D.C. for a new job, whereas my job prospects for a post-doc will probably lead me to anywhere but our capital. That could be sad, but if it happens it happens. I love her and she's been there for me. All too often I'd become attached to someone who was taken, had the empathic thoughtfulness of a fake cock, or simply was not that in to me. So being with her has been lovely. To be fully honest I do still think about a few special women in my life. I say that less in the philandering sense than people I still love deeply, even the odd dildo or two.

For the most part I hang out with Emily's friends, who've I've endeared myself to and likewise over the last handful of years. Lately I've done a lot of stuff with K and E, over from the Silver lab. I do still see Xtian and Becks sometimes for this or that social occasion: drinks with our extended acquaintance cadre at the Terrace; capital concerts that render traffic paralyzed and liberal Madtowners a creaming horde; the odd party; the odder, more intimate dinner. I've lost touch with Lisa, which is sad but she usually initiated the doing of stuff, and she kinda is a single mom with two kids. Same deal with Megan, although I saw her just yesterday and we made hopefully not empty promises to hang out more. Sadly my friendship with Erin never recovered from when I tried striking up a fancy with her years and years ago. Thankfully, though, I got back in contact with Brian, the guy I roomed with. We used to talk about how fucked up grad school can be sometimes, exchanging storied iniquities, proximal and specific hatreds, distal and worried glances at the future. He's in a better place now, and I'm happy about that; I'd missed the guy. Funny enough I even got a message from Hillary a few weeks ago. Yes indeed, the married woman who in hindsight was my best friend for awhile. I figured we'd reached the threshold of 'lack of communication imparting the notion of not being ex friends, but not being friends either'. Probably did, but she thought the news item about the project I work on was cool. I miss her too sometimes. It was a brutal but rewarding.

Getting my Ph.D. goes on. It's gradually gotten better over the years. I do neuroimaging work with an ad-hoc co-advisor and his team at the VA. Still doing monkey work. Basically I look at the mechanisms driving why the brain atrophies as we age. I'm amazed no one ever looked at any of this stuff. That team is a lot of fun and I immensely enjoy working there. It's the kind of work where I'm largely left to my own devices, don't get micromanaged, and still get plenty of feedback when I want it. The number of projects just keep proliferating! My home lab is alright enough. We finally are getting close to publishing that prenatal paper I used to talk about endlessly. It really is amazing how I had to fight for every scrap of data and interpretation thereof, but really we fundamentally have different styles; the sort that makes ultimately for a good synthesis, but not a terribly timely one. Ends up being that that report could get split into two--although it'll be different than the last proposed split. We'll see.
Ultimately I want to finish in early 2010. Where I'm going, I dunno. Carnegie Mellon, maybe. Emory. U Newcastle downunder. Maybe even UCLA again--but not with Dr. Zivago. I would rather punch myself in the nuts with a mailed fist for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

The game project also goes well. We're getting close to the alpha stage. I've written over 200 characters, the equivalent of 4 modern novels, and am finally within sight of finishing the main narrative. Granted, I'll need to then start filling in holes, doing areas where assorted writers that fell off the earth and left them, and some interior worldbuilding. All in all, though, we'll actually have a game soon. It's been a childhood dream of mine, that and it's helped with the writing when I focus carefully.

Well, it's first light and my body should be able to sleep now.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.