Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Dissertation nearly done

2010-04-03 - 3:42 p.m.

I am 2-3 pages from finishing my dissertation. Standing in the white corner, weighing in at 60,000 words and standing 240 pages tall, it is many things. Paltry is not one of them.

Mama said knock you out. Grunt. I'm gonna knock you out.

My next trick will involve splicing together 3 pages for the NIMH's extra T32 training grant slot for minorities. This should be easy. Like I've said: I don't necessarily like the Injun card, but I will unbutton my shirt-sleeves and smack it down whenever necessity compels me.

I'll then get something to eat or go to the gym in some order, work some more, and then decide whether or not I want to try the Inferno. I'm just not feeling leather-clad skinny chicks, Joe boys, and the regulars. I should, but I am still in my post-relationship post-pre-job Godspeed You Black Emperor phase. Like if not for the toxic but wonderful energy drink sucrose sitting in my fridge, I could not wedge this motherfucker out of bed until 11. It is a phenomenon to run. It is a trial to be pleasant when all I want is quiet or at least Belle and Sebastian, maybe at best "Just The Way It Is" because I dig that song.

I've been leaning heavily on Acac recently. She is also in Psych, also got her Ph.D., and has also been looking for post-doc jobs. She's got a teaching gig. Besides Penn I ain't got shit beyond more grad school. She helps. This concept of relying on people is new. This concept of people that are reliable is new.

I will have thai food tonight. I will set my mouth on fire and be lost in the present moment.

EDIT: I finished it! 243 pages and over 60,000 words long. I even made good progress in writing this thing called a biosketch, which is really for professors or at least seasoned post-docs to fill out but oh well. The actual application part is going to be slightly harder than I thought, but I've got all day tomorrow to deal with it. I think I should be able to get to the remaining journal articles as well. Then I'd actually be decently caught up, I think--well as much as I can be, anyway.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.