Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Money: it stands to reason and no reason at all

2010-05-09 - 5:58 p.m.

So.

As a function of working last semester as a TA for extra cash and otherwise putting stuff into my global financial institution sock drawer, I have enough money to comfortably live off of for 4-5 months, depending on when my fellowship ended and my new job began.

It ends up being that I'll likely start getting my post-doc salary--twice what I make now--starting July 1st. I'll have to confirm, but I believe I get a final check on June 1st.

This has left me in a quandary. I will share that quandary, which is probably the first time you have read this phrase since late 2008:

What the fuck do I do with all of this money?

I. Am serious.

Beyond paying off part of my student loans (which accrue no interest over time so why bother), my car (for which I've already paid off the interest so why bother), or buying a digital SLR with lenses (which is roughly 20% of said savings so why not), there is nothing practical to spend it on.

I have no interest in going to Europe or Australia right now, or otherwise vacationing at all. I have no compulsion burning me inside-out about getting the latest gadget.

I have briefly looked into MMAs, regular savings accounts, and CDs. If I had roughly 10 times what I have now, yeah, maybe it might be slightly worth it. But it ain't. Straight up ain't. Ain't ain't ain't by a long shot. A 2% yield on a 2 year CD would net me enough cash to buy a decent mid-range seat from Ticketmaster. I'd just sit out the show.

I'm guessing I'll be responsible, pay off some debts, and get new camera equipment.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.