Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

People; beer day; meat day

2010-05-27 - 11:41 p.m.

What I find odd as the characteristically uncharacteristic outsider is how complicatedly simple modern human interaction is. Due to a lack of predation, social or societal threats might escalate into violence or exile, and nothing beyond work to directly challenge us, we create florid, almost surreal landscapes of emotion and fantasy regarding the perception and thoughts of others.

I do this shit all the time. I have made in-depth psychological portraits of many an Inferno go'er. I will take a given encounter with a friend and wonder through various aspects of it. It's especially acute when I encounter a stranger around my age and by some random artifice talk to them more.

We're wired to want some degree of drama and excitement.

All of that is obvious. What is non-obvious but somehow continuously out of my own reach is that--in all good likelihood--most people probably feel the same way. Even if you have firm ties to your kids and spouse, your immediate family, or what have you, the amount of time and effort it takes to keep that small social circle going can make otherness/strangeness attractive. Yet the threshold where it seems like a good idea to act on that instinct is pretty high. Rather than go out and meet new people, I went back to who and what I know. I like that, it's familiar, and I'm satisfied with it, but then I wonder: am I missing out on something? Am I just another set of circumscribed habits, like so many drugs with the radio on and the curtains drawn?

When I get home from work, the gym, and fix myself dinner, I just watch Lost for a few hours, talk to people online, and go to bed. I find that genuinely satisfying. On an intellectual level I realize I should be taking advantage of my extroverted but cautious nature and trying new things. But the payoff is unknown. And the threshold is high.

These are why random acts of serendipity help: you just sort of shrug or smile, say 'okay', and go with it.

There have been a few of these. I would like a few more. But Season 2 of Lost is so fucking good.

Complicatedly simple.

- - -

I really need to buy a new camera set. There's just no good reason not to. And it'd get my ass out into the summer night more often than not, even if Madison is a bit thin on really impressive and obvious shots.

- - -

Tomorrow is 'beer day'. This consists of my lab getting to the Terrace around 4pm and Cathy buying us all the beer we care for over 180 minute period. I'm quite partial to drinking so I intend to be there roughly on time. I'm having lunch with Lisa and her 4 year old around Noon also. It's probably best to have one day where nothing much of anything happens work-wise.

The day after tomorrow is 'meat day'. This consists of bringing a lot of meat to Erik's place, grilling it, and being stuffed with various folk from the lab. There'll also likely be the usual hijinks at the Inferno. If I felt really ambitious I could drive down to Chicago, but that seems like a bit much to spring on Mari at the last minute. I can be capricious, but tomorrow is kind of Friday.

On a final note, I have occasionally been listening to the Red Army Choir's rendition of the Soviet national anthem. The thing just kicks ass musically.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.