Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Still hate Baltimore - 2013-02-14

1 year anniversary! - 2012-11-05

Quantum project; worries about work - 2012-09-09

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans

2011-10-13 - 5:50 p.m.

I got a post-doctoral position at the National Institute on Aging. This is probably one of the most prestigious appointments a young scientist can get. I'll be helping set up their clinical neurology program, doing clinical intervention studies, and a range of other work between the main NIA campus and our headquarters at a hospital.

I've achieved the pinnacle. I feel accomplished. I feel good. I'm pissed off at my mother for at the last minute wanting to come out for our second (and official) wedding. She'd previously said no because she has claustrophobia or a fear of confinement of some kind. It became this gigantic clusterfuck. Everyone is just annoyed or disgusted with the situation. The less written about it the better. I get to listen to a voicemail message and read FB messages, probably mostly in caps, bemoaning how completely selfish acts like cashing out my gran's bonds, borrowing money from a great aunt in bad health, asking Julia's very insular parents to stay at their place overnight, and us to come pick her up from this or that Amtrak location were all for our benefit and how we should forget it.

Yeah, I'm willing to believe in part some of it is delusional or bad memory, but what atrocious fucking timing.

See, best news of the entire year and I spend more lines bitching about my mom complicating an otherwise easy wedding to plan. I'm just really pissed off about it and this helps.

Anyway, yay for getting another job!

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.