Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

MES update I never made - 2013-06-17

National Margarita Day - 2013-02-22

Rewarmed Theme: my buddies page on Diaryland - 2013-02-17

Still hate Baltimore - 2013-02-14

1 year anniversary! - 2012-11-05


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Quantum project; worries about work

2012-09-09 - 9:25 p.m.

I decided to accept an assistant assistant's position within the Master Storyteller office. This is for an international LARP organization, because at this point in my life I have no interest in partying, having close physical friends, or doing much else but helping develop an occult fantasy world.

Basically, I am in charge of Quantum, a project where:

1) an existing team that includes me is finishing up historical timelines of every American state and country on Earth;

and 2) I'm setting up a new team to get a city- and game-specific historical timeline done for approximately 170 different cities. 44 international, the rest state-side.

That'll involve bringing on 21 assistants, who'll then themselves contact local cities and get local people to do the content. Because hell if I'm outsourcing shit that happens in Chicago to some dude in Miami.

I know that if I didn't do it, someone else would do it half-assed. It needs to get done in about 9 months so roughly 4,000 players can utilize the information for character creation around mid-2013. That's when every game in the larger genre resets and another global, inter-connected story happens.

I'm pretty sure I can do it.

- - -

Lately I wonder if I'm doing enough for work. We had Garion back on July 20th. I had 6 weeks of mandated time for leave. I took a week, then went in to do brain scans because that was part of a pre-existing agreement. Then my boss took off for two weeks to Greece.

I enjoy telecommuting from home. Things come up that introduce about 2 hours of non-work time throughout the day. This is somewhat normal at the job as well. What concerns me is that many post-docs brag about working 50-60 hours a week. I do about 35. My publication record is very good, but I want to have an honest conversation with other people about what is actually really typical.

Just been unsure of myself lately. I tell myself I'll do work at night while Julia is asleep, but then the motivation doesn't really come.

I suppose I could start editing the brain glucose in the precuneus + glutamate + GABA paper. Ultimately I want a decent work-life balance, but I worry I'm not putting in enough work.

I just need to send out a report for Quantum. Then I can do some work.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.