Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Mindset to music - 2014-10-07

Stolen Car - 2014-10-07

Fractured - 2014-09-24

Maybe - 2014-09-21

A night at the museum - 2014-08-31


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Petty things

2014-08-31 - 11:09 p.m.

The Captain came down from Philadelphia for Labor Day weekend. Yesterday, it was going to the Arboretum at Cylburn. Today, we all did the Renaissance Faire. It's the second time for Julia and I this season. Beth, Joel, and their toddler Alex also came along. The old me might have described some of the more interesting characters, situations, and the like.

I'm too grossly self-indulgent for that anymore. Descriptions here don't do.

The off-color comment about me being able to be a model if being a professor doesn't work out was thought-provoking. He and Acacia had a comparable conversation in the past, how they were surprised I befriended them because I was "the beautiful people." So years later, I get more insight into what this means. More or less unknown to me, so the story goes, teenage girls secretly swooned over me when I was a teenager. It was strange that it was brought up, and that Daniel and Julia (wife Julia, not Julia from teenage year Julia) talked about it and related things about my life at length.

I have always made myself inaccessible to varying degrees. Back then, I chalk it up to obliviousness and being more concerned with metaphysical things, my future, and my own fool's errands. Nowadays, even if I had the time or interest, I see or know no one even remotely like that. I do not have chance encounters, random friending or flirtations, or other tricks of life typical for the younger part.

I conclude that I became really good at walling myself away. Out of disinterest as much as to save time.

Daniel left for Philadelphia shortly after we got back home.

- - -

The news about my training grant is positive so far. The deputy director at NIA wants some reasonable items to listed in a letter, along with a co-mentor at my new institution. It would all be something to put in after Council meets. Considering that Council funds grants with my score, it seems--seems--like this will work.

I'm still waiting for confirmation.

If it did work, I would need to maintain formal relations with my idiot boss for another year. Thankfully, he is not the head or even co-mentor on the project. He's listed as an MRI expert. I know more than he does. No, seriously, I do, which makes the last 3 years working with and now recently for him sad and funny. Mostly enraging, actually.

If the training grant goes through, it will mean 750,000 in additional independent grant funding. I'm willing to endure another year of remote contact with my boss to get that kind of money.

- - -

The thing I hate about Maryland the most is the humidity.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.