Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

MD - 2016-05-08

Midnight Loop - 2016-05-06

If the bough - 2016-05-06

Blackbird Song - 2016-03-27

Only fear of death - 2016-03-25


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Any less sad

2016-03-25 - 10:39 p.m.

5 years ago, I gave a big chunk of change to Selene and The Captain. Captain took over the debt to help pay off his condo at the time.

Fast-forward 5 years later, about 1k got knocked off with lots of k's to go.

I finally had enough. I understand that dogs sometimes randomly eat thongs and need thoracic surgery, but it'd been a good 6 months since then.

So I emailed Selene, 2nd old friend of my life, about it. The whole interaction was, well, clinical. She appreciated that the situation was ridiculous, messaged him about it, and stopped shortly thereafter.

So oldest friend in the world promptly responded to a recent email I sent with:

"Hi A-,

That will be fine. What's your current mailing address? I'll have my
bank send you a monthly check."

Just like that.

My oldest friends in the world. Just going through the motions like it's a long-standing social obligation that needs to be met. No "hey how are you?", spontaneous questions, nothing.

This is how I structured my life, I suppose. I haven't made friends like that in a long time. The few I have are so wrapped up in academic life that I never hear from them.

And I wonder, miles down the path I chose, if I could have decided on something else, or ever wanted something else.

I want to ask how life has been, what some recent hardships are, relate my own experiences, one professor to another. But somehow it just doesn't click, doesn't feel right. Like a handshake that has lingered too long.

So old friends get older, life goes on, and we all focus on what is most immediately important.

But that still doesn't make it any less sad.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.