Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Taking out the trash - 2022-12-11

Lost at sea - 2022-09-03

Shadow of the man I used to be - 2022-06-28

Life is hell - 2022-05-26

Waiting - 2022-04-22


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Denied tenure

2022-03-02 - 3:12 p.m.

They officially denied me tenure today.

I know it's political because of my wife's job skewering IDPH.

I know it's bullshit and I have a lawyer ready to file a civil suit.

I know it's wrong and have colleagues who know my work who have told me so.

But fuck me. I still feel like a failure.

J originally recommended I take the ISU job to be closer to family. So our son G could grow up around them. J lives in Texas with Travis now. G lives with them too after the custody agreement, because he doesn't deserve to live in isolation and slowly die while looking outside from a window, or at a computer desk in a basement.

7 years at this job. The worst decision I ever made. Second worst decision was taking the job at NIA for 3 years, which led to the worst decision.

If I could rewind time.

It would be September 2012. I would have gotten my PhD just a few years ago. Instead of being lonely because Emily and I broke up, and getting together with J back in Fall 2010, I could have held strong. Found a post-doc gig elsewhere. Stayed with Barb for a year to find something else when Sterling made it clear I wasn't getting a faculty gig but some hotshot asshole that ended up being a literal sexual predator.

But life isn't a VHS machine.

I'm stuck here.

I'm fucked here.

What have I become indeed. Only there aren't any sweetest friends anymore. Everyone I know goes away in the end.

Cry me a fucking river, you bald asshole. I know. You try living in isolation for 720+ days, being a functional alcoholic while your life slowly decays around you despite your best efforts, and not even being able to fuck your wife because of an immune condition. I don't even have the luxury of killing myself. Life is cruel. Well. I'll fuck life in the ass later and behead the fuck in some west-end suburb. For now, I'm going to feel sad.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.