Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

The desperation of growing older - 2013-12-23

We had a cat named Moe. Moe is dead now; dumb MES crap - 2013-06-22

Friends on the wind - 2013-06-18

Not Done Just Yet - 2013-06-17

MES update I never made - 2013-06-17


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

National Margarita Day

2013-02-22 - 10:19 p.m.

Today is National Margarita Day. Julia made some delicious black bean and chicken burritos. Garion was fussy for most of the evening, but after several helpings of boob calmed down.

It was well into the second margarita that I remembered: drinking sometimes depresses me. I'm the kind of person that needs to find something to not be satisfied by: some long-standing project, some personal grievance a professional colleague has long since forgotten, things like that. I think I need to feel angry frequently. Or something in my neural wiring makes that response desirable.

I am not a cheerful person by nature. It takes a proper stimulus to induce happiness. When everything is social obligations and noise and bluster, I want quiet. In the times when there is quiet, after my wife and son go to sleep, I think about the past, very seldom the future, and am not enthused by either of them. What happened before is a mess of barely remembered vignettes, emotions, and circumstances that made sense at the time but seem a waste of resources now. Everything but the most meaningful interactions. Just haphazard madness. For the future, I don't see possibilities. I see painful obstacles and misery, interspersed with some good moments. It doesn't excite me. It fills me with quiet dread.

So I have taken to being in the moment. This is not an empowering "in the moment", but simple being. In taking the circulator to work, I will sit for 40 minutes, catalog local color speech, and barely think about anything at all. It feels right.

I should get back to finish the rest of the classifier manuscript for Neuroimage.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.