Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

I am Jack's diatribe of self-congratulatory complaining - 2014-02-24

Ultima rides again. Consults again. Yes. - 2014-02-10

What The EverLasting Fuck - 2014-01-31

What The EverLasting Fuck - 2014-01-31

Emergency Room - 2014-01-14


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

2014: So far, you have not been an asshole

2014-01-09 - 11:10 p.m.

2014 has treated me alright so far.

I got back my summary statement about my transition grant. The Candidate and Research Plan sections are great, no problem. The actual mentoring and career plan parts are what need revising. This is easier to fix than if reviewers thought the science was bad.

It's trite, but children grow up fast. Garion will soon be 18 months old. He asks after me when I'm gone for short periods to walk the dog, occasionally rolls over in the night to sleep on my twin bed from Julia's queen bed, and is in general a wonderful child.

Yes, I still spend most of my work day in a somewhat mystifying semi-rage over things there. I think it's the fact that my mentor is only 4 years older than me, and we basically have the same publication record, and I have done more research than he has, but he has this heavy-handed, condescending pedantry about him that just. Rubs. Me. Wrong.

I do genuinely hate the man. Yes, I occasionally wished Dr. Silver would die, but not like this.

Well, we'll see if I get any job interviews on the path to faculty. Not that that would kill him, no. Although, if I did all of that in secret, then gave him the actual 2 weeks notice before I left--that might.

Maybe I will. It would serve him right.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.