Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

RAM saga, day three and my 22nd birthday

2002-06- - 2:23 a.m.

Today is my birthday. I am twenty-two today. It somehow feels younger, like I've transitioned into the lowest bracket of the "twenty-something" crowd. Best years these are supposed to be: height of intellectual development and physical prowess. I wonder if it's accidental or intended that advanced education tends to eat up half to 3/4 of it all. Then again, even if I had the money to travel, there's noone special to travel with. Pity.

Yesterday was day three of the RAM installation story. Yes, the saga continued, climaxed and ended. Getting up I sleepily threw on the same pants I've been wearing for a week and a half. I think I'll need to get out of this college habit. Anyway, Scott drove me over to Best Buy to pick up the thing. We waited about 30 minutes for the head techie to get back from his extended lunch break. The supevisor that showed up was this thin Anglo-Saxon number, complete with a subtle fur-rimmed mouth. Somber to an S he started poking around at the innards of my machine. He slipped in the red RAM chip. The start-up screen froze. Again. Frozen. And again�frozen. "Y'know, I think your memory is defective. Where'd you get it at, Fry's? Heh, yeah." The trainee also snorted. Yeah, at least they had 'em in stock, buckos.

So we drove back to the house to get the receipt, I ended up realizing I somehow had the receipt in my hand the whole time where it shouldn't have been, and we're off. The RAM/Motherboard rep. At Fry�s was courteous and efficient. I like it when "Sir" doesn't sound like a veiled way of saying "you prick." Somehow even the guy at security knew me, called me A; decent enough nickinitial. The trend continued as the security guy at Best Buy smiled and nodded at me as we strolled in. Plastic casing equipped with Best Buy �this is my crap� sticker, I handed the RAM over to stalwart Anglo-Saxon supervisor man. He slipped it in, we waited, and there it was: my computer had accepted the new RAM like a baboon liver. Houston, we have upgrade. Now the only catch was finding Scott. Scott is ADD�severely ADD. You think I�M bad when I haven�t eaten or I�m nervous, sweet monkey Jesus. I thought about carting the CPU around the store while looking for him, but then just decided to wait by the car�and after 10 minutes of that failed idea, I walked back in and struck a deal with the new security guy. It was cool, he knew me somehow. So after walking around the whole place, getting the eye from one women and the eye from another, who should be outside but Scott, plucky and bouncing on the balls of his feet. I love this guy, even if he drives us nuts sometimes.

The rest of the day was inconsequential. I spent it hearing back from a few profs (�filled positions already; sorry, good luck�) and hiking through what has to be the most beautiful game I have ever seen. The intro sequence made me weep. If it weren�t for my back killing me I�d go at it more. Ah well�I should take it easy on my birthday. Have a good one.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.