Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

What, I can't whine once in awhile?

2003-04-25 - 7:50 p.m.

I'm 22. I live with my mother still. I've been unemployed for 10 months through no fault of my own. I would rate myself a 3 on the "Failure to Launch" (FTL) scale. I'd say a 4, but I think we yanks all get some handicap strokes because of the stagnant economy and Jingoism.

I drive home from a decent day at the Dr. Zivago's lab. Scott rambles a hello and other bits as I walk through the garage, into the kitchen and over to mom. There's a tone in her voice. I can recall this tone, as I'm sure anyone who remembers their childhood can. When a parent was doing a really shitty job of emphasizing the importance of something, but trying to skirt around it in that progressive authoritarian attitude, that was when I got the tone.

I could respect her using it on me when I was a child, or a teenager, but even if I can't pick my ass off of the unemployment heap and get a place of my own, there's no call to lead me around the house and explain to me that I should really pick up things more often.

I know that trash clutters the mind and puts me in a negative energy space.

I know that we have a recycling bag that's filled to excess so I have to arrange bottles around it.

I know that there's a trash can in every other room of the house and people can't abide spare fast food napkins laying around my work area that have been ruffled.

I even know that Scott lacks the balls to tell me any about his fastidiousness compulsion. Yeah, it's his house, I know the argument, don't need a reminder about respecting authority..but it doesn't make getting relayed messages from your mother any easier.

Of course, what I didn't know was that Scott was going inside my room to inspect it for cleanliness. As alot of you know, I take my space very seriously. There's no quicker way to make me despise someone than having my space compromised. Now I respect that Scott wants to keep a clean house, but by God I will bitch him out and move back to Gran's if he keeps inspecting my room. Parents who are over protective and anal of their 12-17 year old daughter do this sort of shit, not some chick's boyfriend to her adult son.

My bottom line is that it's degrading, and the last part about inspecting or even being in my room is wrong.

I can take a hint, I can take a note, but I cannot take that tone. It's unnecessary.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.