Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Dentist's appointment and starting female rat study

2003-07-31 - 1:13 a.m.

I awoke at 9am today for a dentist's appointment. I'd postponed it for far too long. It'd been february since I last saw x-rays of my mouth and the odd 'pocket' around my lower left-most molar.

I felt awake on 5 hours of sleep, with an energy drink supplement--just in case. I arrived about 30 minutes before I was scheduled. The doctor and nurse mentioned I needed a new full jaw x-ray. I remember as a kid how your only choice was to have these huge plastic dividers shoved up against your cheeks. Heh, I could barely hold them in back then. Today, though, I stood up and clamped my teeth down on a disposable bit. The machine had handle bars; I'd forgotten about that part last time.

The x-ray came back very positive. I'd occasionally had major inflamation around the molar near where I had surgery, but the doctor said that wasn't a red flag. The bone graft and gum lining were growing back well. I had thought I needed to get more surgery and pay another 5,000 USD. For now, it seems like I'm fine.

I exited to the parking lot and noticed a Round Table pizza me and The Captain occasionally went to. I had to go to Mt. University and I didn't want Chinese, so I figured why not for old time's sake. I ordered a BBQ chicken pizza..which seems mundane to you, probably, but it'll always remind me of Bosstown. Yeah, I'd stop by in a classy pizza place located on Zarathustra Square. It got to be so that the staff knew me and knew my order by heart. It cost more than the chinese buffet I fell in love with, but that pizza--reminds me of good times and trying to make it on my own. The Round Table version was good.

I arrived at Mt. University but I felt distracted. I'd forgotten my wellbutrin again; I'd been rushing out of the house too fast lately. I began my experiment on testing the 48 hour 'late' depression effect with female rats, rather than male ones. There was the complication of moving the rats from one room to one location to another living space, but I managed well. I also worked more on an Anti-Research Conspiracy protocol (i.e. experiment). The revision has taken a long time, much longer than usual. There are many sections where the committee wants me to cite previous studies to prove that what we want to do is ethical and feasible. It is alot of work--and due by friday--but I can get it done.

After all was said and done I walked with Grettle to around where my car was parked, talking about what it was like to go off to NY and med school. Seems like a difficult situation, never really knowing where to settle. She seems resolved, at least. She's a strong person like that.

I came back home at around 6. Been up and doing things for awhile now. I should sleep soon.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.