Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Lab is looking up; lenses arrive (also photo added)

2003-09-19 - 2:18 p.m.

Friday is here. I've been at work for two hours and plan on leaving in one. These are the salad days of our research science.

The lab is beginning to claw to the light of day through the glistening pork folds of a seven nation fat man, severing bureaucracy with fucked up circumstance. So, which fucked up circumstance solved our problems? Simple:

Our entire colony got infected with Killum Parvo virus. Same thing happened to one section of Dr. Whale's colony.

In Dr. Zivago's words: "Well, the bad news is that we have parvo. The good news is that we have parvo."

See, for most scientists this would mean that their research was ruined and they'd have to spend a few grand to clean up their colony.

Not us. We want the stuff. We're like Robert Downey Jr. at a rave over that stuff. The lab had been getting the late component depression back when all their albino rats had parvo. You should see the tapes of those rats. They just...float...for 15 minutes, not a twitch, not a paddle, nothing. You can tell they don't give a good jolly damn about anything.

Fast-forward to the present where we've been trying to get 'hooded' rats sick with a bacteria, then giving them the Depress-U-Good (i.e. Reserpine) drug. That hadn't been working. I'd run 5 separate experiments, all with varying floating times that were about on par with the guys who didn't get the Depress-U-Good drug.

Enter our savior of randomness, parvo virus. The Whale lab had just moved out all of their rats from the left wing rat colony room. So it's all ours now, every last contaminated foot/meter of it. Dr. Zivago is happier than Dick Cheney going to war. I'd worried about if my moving back and forth between different colony rooms might have spread it, but the Whale lab personnel are notorious for getting sick animals. I can hear Wrangler bitching out some graduate student about safety precautions just now.

So, without having to get a room in Schlesinger hall, we can now have our very own level 1 bio-containment facility right in our own backyard--since noone else wants to come near the place with a 10 ft. pole. This makes life much easier for us.

We've even got the council of elders on animal rights on the run. After a few months of revisions we've finally beat them back and lifted the siege on our research. All I need to do today is fax over some safety data sheets to the Biosafety Officer and it'll all be approved.

----

In supremely badass news, I got my two lenses! They are very nice lenses and give me much pleasure.

On the flipside, though, I have yet to receive a month old package from my seller on ebay. I'm going to threaten to press a fraud charge soon. I've never waited a month for a package that allegedly gets shipped first class mail.

----

Time to get out of here, weeeee...

--{later that day}--

In my rush to get stuck in bad traffic and various dialogues, I forgot to post my newest shot..

Fish by moonlight

Comment: something seems really off, but people seem to like it so meh.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.