Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Last day before test or the importance of being chill...mostly chill

2003-10-19 - 9:59 p.m.

I visited the testing site today. They were closed so I hunkered down behind a pylon and worked through 15 problems there just to get comfy. A mexican woman saw me and passed along to the end of the power structure whose feet we occupied. She spoke with other mexican women and gave a general ambiance.

One more day (technically 1 1/16 if you count now) until the exam at 8am.

From what I can tell my main problems in quant will be: remembering which value/number goes on which side for 'comparison' questions and focusing exactly on what the question asks. Not skimming a question or making assumptions is hard under pressure. Misreading one word can get you the wrong right answer. I seem covered as far as techniques and knowledge go, though.

The Kaplan book states that I should take off all of tomorrow and conserve my energy. I'm debatting right now about whether I should do a full-length practice exam in the morning; y'know, for more morning preparation. I did part of one today (75 minutes of essay writing only; no verbal or quant) and several full ones in the days before. I could use some more morning preparation..but I'll have to think more about it.

I finally took that "score it now!" diagnostic service on the GRE website. I got a topic about environmental protection and needing to band together and shit or else we're doomed. I argued on the side of politicians and corporations, making baby steps. I got a '5' on that one which was surprising: I didn't have my heart in it. The "tear this argument a new ass" topic was one I'd already written on. I decided to port in the essay I'd done and see how it would do--with a few minor modifications. It got a '6', which is as high as you can go. Overall, then, I think that I know how to approach these essays. In fact, these are the most relaxing parts of the test for me.

The verbal section also won't be a problem unless I rush myself...but I can finish 28 questions in 25 minutes and still have 5 to spare, so I'll be going slowwww and easy with the first 7--that's where the major points are in getting things right. I should read through the last three vocab lists I've got then skim the 333 'master' words for any I've forgotten. I can do that in the morning so it won't really count as studying that day...yeah...

I'm like Berlin after the fall of Communism when it comes to the math section: I feel liberated but I'm not sure what the fuck to expect. The questions are supposed to be similar to practice GRE's and stuff Kaplan, Princeton Review and Barrons offer. Barrons was pretty intensive and I relied on that for my background/trial by fire learning. On the converse, the Princeton Review was simple and Kaplan's math questions were easy. I literally got only 2 wrong out of 70 for not knowing how to do a problem. The other 7-8 were errors on my part, mixing up variables with numbers, what should go where...which won't be a problem during the test because I'm making damn sure--no matter the time--that I double check everything from the question to the answer.

I'm actually glad I'm not all that nervous about this test. People will say they're not nervous but their hearts are doing imitations of hummingbirds. For the most part I keep thinking that it'll be just like another practice test. I can psych myself out and just keep thinking that. Above all it's important to remain completely calm and utterly emotionally detached. When I'm in that state I good--really good.

----

This'll be my last broadcast for two days. I'm getting into my Zen zone and neglecting most everything else.

If you're the type that's inclined toward it (or you happen to like me), send me some positive thoughts and well-wishes/prayers/similar stuff. If not, no worries. The more positive vibes the better. Love is always cool.

I wish you all well. I know I'll do well. In a way it's redemption for the very same test that I quit 4/5's through--back over a year ago. I hadn't prepared like I have now, though.

I truly am ready to do my best.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.