Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Funny thing happened on the way down the hill...; thinking about Santa Cruz

2004-04-26 - 3:29 p.m.

So there I was, doing my daily hike around and along the hills I call home. I'd turned onto an obscure side street, Rainbow Ridge Rd., because there were some seniors up ahead walking dogs--and I hate being neighborly.

The city was burning again, with embers of orange sand and green-blue halcyons vibrating in the distance. Downtown was much easier to see over on that street, offering up a nice window as the road curved down sharply.

I had a feeling someone was about to get my attention. Up pulls a white car driven by a mid to late 20's gentleman, sporting a swarthy complexion (possibly Pakistani or Indian) and a casual suit. He profusely apologized for bothering me and asked if I had a cell-phone. I didn't and told him as much.

He was politely exasperated at his own cell-phone signal not working. I told the guy that the nearby military base's radar sometimes cut off cellular transmission. He shook his and said something like "Wouldn't you know it. I had a feeling I should have called when I had the chance." I mentioned that he could sport down the hill and probably pick up transmission there, but he was really antsy about finding whichever house he needed to get to.

He then asked if I lived around here. After saying I did, he offered to give me a lift if he could use our phone. At the time I didn't catch a bad vibe off of the guy; he was too polite, well-dressed and above-all nervous to be anything but trustworthy. At first I tried the front seat, but it was completely soaked; my ass confirmed it. He apologized again and said, "And of course the front seat is wet. I'm sorry, had roses there." The man did indeed have a nice-looking boque in the back. I smiled and said it was alright.

We proceeded forward (well, backward for me) after I got into the backseat. The man kept calling me 'Sir' and apologizing about inconveniencing me. On the contrary, I felt perfectly fine with ending my hike to ride with and help a complete stranger. He was quite sincerely appreciative, asking God to bless me and mentioning that, after I suggested it, he'd "pay it forward" when it came to returning the favor.

We pulled up to the spot where I used to park my car, I went inside, fetched a cordless, and let him use it while I hovered around Ma and her cooking crook-neck squash. After about 5 minutes the guy tentatively called from outside and handed me back the phone. We shook hands, I gave him directions to where he picked me up and that was that.

I decided to finish my exercise routine by walking around the flat backyard out near the slopping ravine's edge. It occured to me that, ironically, I'd gone straight from being neighborly to doing something out of the 1950's, going so far as to say to the guy that I only hoped he'd reach his final destination. I guess I despise most of our yuppie neighbors, but I don't mind helping strangers.

You'd have to know the attitude of these people, I guess.

----

I finally started writing again today. I was stuck on how to finish this 1st-person fantasty/detective story I'd been working on, "Succubus Unplugged", but I've got all the ties neatly snipped off. After I finish this one, I want to finally move on to some new projects--maybe even bring back a few that've been collecting even more dust than "Succubus".

Aside from that, I finally finished FFX this morning. I've never spent so much time on any one game in my life. Usually I polish these things off pretty quick, but I was extremely anal about finding everything in this one--and damn but there's alot of everything. I have entirely too many new games to play after that one, but it is a comfort and takes up some of my free time. Now you could say I should be photographing during these scorching-hot days of spring, but I haven't felt the motivation to get up really early and drive out to the desert. Besides, I need to buy a new straw hat and some mole-skin inserts for my hiking boots before attempting that.

I'm still heavily considering the drive all the way up to Santa Cruz. I've been getting this odd feeling for several weeks now, that somehow I'll find some spiritual something by walking around the redwoods there. I was born in that forest, after all, so part of me is attracted to the area. I'll admit it'd make for some lovely photography opportunities, but I'm just not sure--mostly because of how much it'd be, gas-wise. I'm looking to go to Florida pretty soon to visit T and, being unemployed and all, I can't squander cash this way and that.

I'll figure out something clever; I usually do.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.