Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Well that's better; Getting to know Dorian Gray (UPDATED)

2006-09-23 - 8:28 p.m.

The exact point of entry for a new mood cycle can only sometimes be traced to one event. Sometimes good things happen to bad people. Sometimes pitbulls drink until the early dawn and stumble home on their quadrapedal walk of shame. Sometimes you feel a long island iced tea of emotions, each gently beyond reason and inexplicably competing for attention.

I just feel pretty damn good. That would be tequila if you're following with the tortured metaphor. We burn and sodomize the Geneva Conventions here. Like that.

Brian recently proved himself a manly man by doing no less than: 1) constructing two long 1 foot stages; 2) drilling in the vaudeville theatre chairs he bought to said stages; 3) repairing what seemed like his dead hacked x-box, taking it from a state of complete nervous breakdown to it's restored state, a psychological Lazarus for a piece of hardware if there ever was one.

Somehow by an act of God or plain dumb luck, I was able to exchange my badass leather trenchcoat for a not so badass but distinctly male button patterned leather jacket at St. Vinny's. The goth girl with thickly brown, painted eyebrows said they had a no returns, no exchanges policy. I figured talking to a manager wouldn't hurt. I explained that, prior to a few days ago, I had no idea I'd bought a woman's coat. She either took pity on me or figured what the hell and let me pick out something different. I even got a gift card to cover the difference in prices. It was a "big exception," and I was properly thankful. Wasting 60 bucks would have sucked.

This next week is low-key so far as my big monkey project goes. Last of the 2nd group will go through the HIP on tuesday. Have a meeting to schedule PPI time with Dr. M's group on thursday. I'm still only able to do one thing with one group at the moment due to room constraints or anticipated scheduling meetings.

Suits me just fine.

The results for the 4mo assessment are a big let down. Nothing behaviorally different, nothing yet physiologically different. There's too much individual error in the data. But there are the significant behavioral differences at 2 months of age. Hopefully the observations of early life and with dams will further substantiate this early effect.

I can hope. Having all this work be for so little would suck.

I'm headed out to the Inferno right around now, but I may come back and add more to this entry. Or not. I'm entirely ambivalent on that point at this point.

* * *

Sunday

Dancing was great fun as usual. And also, as usual, I had one or two funny, accidental missteps. I tend to do spins every so often and, somehow, gravity kinda tilted me like a top about to crash out. I recovered, I laughed at myself, I continued. Only other time was an incorporation of head-banging and dancing to this 'rabble rabble, bitch bitch' number. My sense of balance usually knew what to do with itself, so I bumped into someone up on the stage behind me. Gentle, fortunately.

And on this particular night Dorian Gray and I had an indepth talk. He's always really pleased to see me and comes off as a great, fun-loving guy. Damn near a 180 from most folk there who are trying to be badass. He's older than any most, though, so I suspect he doesn't give a damn. Somehow my work came up and I told him what I did. He was pleasantly surprised. Turns out he's a plant geneticist that works on corn for a company in town. We went on for awhile about Ph.D. stuff. He offered help on if I needed any guidance for my dissertation. Y'know it's really funny: the two people I'm friends with at the Inferno are an astrophysicist and a plant geneticist. Like notices like, I swear.

I also asked Jeff/Dorian Gray about the Inferno itself. Amazingly he's been going there for 8 years, ever since the place opened. He confirmed my suspicion that most people there are very cliquey. That'd explain my still being a relative outsider, given that: 1) I have no interest getting on livejournal exclusively to start in on the existing pecking order; 2) Livejournal sucks. If I can't add code to keep the existence of the thing a mystery to anyone but invited guests or other diarists, then fuck that.

Sadly it was a no show for Awkward Girl Who Looks Like Hillary and Chick With Cool Top Hat. These things happen. I'm just keeping my options open. I have no idea if Erin is interested in pursuing a relationship, after all, and I haven't heard from Tasha in over a month so I don't know what her situation /disposition is. I was pursuing Erin first, true, but then T came back into my life unexpectedly. And while I have that whole 'no long distance' rule, she gets a grandfather clause. I love her--even if there's some unresolved business to attend to.

I don't expect anything to develop on either end, not as a comment on either woman but simply because that is the trend to which I'm accustomed.

* * *

So far, my today has consisted of dreaming that I was kidnapped by a crime family, making lunch, watching the rest of "A Series of Unfortunate Events," going to the lab to finish assays for some HIP baselines, coming back here to wrap this entry up, finish reading some neuroimaging articles, and move in a couch that Brian and I bought on ebay. I pay for the thing in full, so it seems I finally bought non-office furniture for the first time in my life.

Speaking of which, I need to go by the ATM to see if my local bank account has enough cash. If not, I have a complicated method to get the required amount by writing out checks at various places and getting cash back.

Hopefully I have enough wad left to blow on this couch. I can hope. Or I can go to Woodman's, get more juice, then to MoFo's to get coffee. Either way, I need the wad in about 3 hours.

Like I said in my profile: unnecessarily complicated.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.