Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Desconso Gardens

2001-08-15 - 3:57 p.m.

My mom and I just went to the Desconso Gardens out near Glendale (non-locals: someplace in the hills way northeast of downtown LA).

Saying the place was gorgeous is a gross understatement. The American, English, and Scottish varieties and hybrids of roses were in full bloom; lots of perennial stuff. It's rather hard to describe rows upon rows of nothing but sweet smelling, perfectly formed rose gardens.

There was a spanish fountain with some rather nice trellises forming a path right next to it. They had this arch effect going with trellises lined up every 8 feet or so. The effect was that in summer, but especially in spring, you'd have a naturally shaded walkway. I think they usually used scottish rose bushes, the ones that grow to really gnarly proportions (yes, I said gnarly).

There was a nice, small Japanese garden off to one side that had the obligatory carp in it. Much larger varities were to be found in the main pond, stream-lined beasties chowing down on the algie and enjoying repositories of insect eggs.

Lot of terrapines in the bird observation pond area. Big little guys, too. I also saw a few ducks that would have honored any dining table.

The grounds are just simply spectacular, even the forests that they keep up. Camellia forests, actually...they're this variety of tree that bears fruit in the spring, kinda short as far as trees go.

My brain is partially fried, but I had a light umbrella and sun-screen lotion on.

I also learned that growing bonsai isn't nearly as hard as I thought it was. I rather enjoy gardening, so I would like to take it up if I ever stop moving back and forth over this continent.

Oh yes, I studied a bit of the book...mainly therapeutic and philosophical doctrine surrounding medicine in the 17th century. Paracelsus was a really interesting guy...thought bleeding, leeching, and several other purgational practices were really full of it. More of an herbalist/mineralist who de-emphasized surgery.

Interestingly, he stated that when you ate food, the etheric leftovers of the plant/animal you ate absorbed deficiencies created by lack of food in your system. Seems rather odd, but at least it's a different way of looking at pathogenic release.

Good God, this is the most boring post I've written. Are you still reading? Wow I like you. Anyone else like cultivating bonsai? Know anything about it? I'd love to hear from you if you do.

I feel so balanced within myself it's slightly frightening. I like it, though. Have a good day.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.