Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Crime and venture capitalism

2001-08-16 - 2:51 a.m.

For about the last week or so, I've been sending overly formal letters of complaint and inquiry to various departments of a company whose name I can't divulge. Apparently divulging the name of said company could get me sued. Ah well.

So, why my sudden and totally uncharacteristic care in the affairs of a huge company? Someone posing as one of their representatives tried to swindle me and ALOT of other people out of a whole hell of alot of money.

Again, I can't explain the exact situation, but let's just say it involves clandestine modem connections to 1-900 numbers in the Caribbean so that you can reach a website to claim a prize. I thought the whole thing stunk to high hell, but I'm sure some have been taken in by this thingy. The message, package, and everything else looked very authentic, after all.

So I decided that I should report the bastard. You would not believe what it takes to get to the right department at a corporation. It's like trying to get the new w-64 version C form when all the government offices use the version D form as of two weeks ago: you have to hunt the thing down, nail it to the ground, and finally shackle it for good measure...then maybe beat it a few times 'till it's knocked unconscious.

Well, they beated around the bush and then I beat it, baby, and it's going down...hard. Of course the whole thing is woefully confidential, but I get the impression this has happened before and it's a big thorn in their side.

Amazing what threatened self-interest will motivate you to do to other people. Wow that came off as cynical. Ah well, I'm just in that mood after my bush-whacking excursion into the venture capitalism of some immoral nasty person. Grr.

"Feel the back-hand of Justice!"

-Minsc, Baldur's Gate 2

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.