Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

The ring

2002-01-19 - 4:00 p.m.

Today I finally got my packages out of the lab and back to my dorm. I really did get Christmas presents after all! Mom said she already cashed the check from my grandfather, which is nice of him. Mom bought me a calvin klein sweatshirt, which confuses me since I have a wool sweater already. In Ohio you usually get ass cold or mildly warm weather...but hey, it's thick and warm.

There was one present that really surprised me. Mom had been dropping hints about buying something that was expensive, something that suited me. Inside of the big bag she sent there was a small black box. I opened it up and inside was a small black cloth bag. She sends me bags on occasion to keep my trinkets in, so I didn't think much about the bag. Then I thought for a second and squeezed it a few times. There was something substantive inside it.

I opened the bag carefully, gently pulling out this beautiful, dazzling ring. The band is silver in back with 1/4 inch gold trim making up the borders, which weaves into a border-band of tiny scales as it crawls up from the back. On the sides of the centerpiece are gold knots interlacing one another in a Teutonic fashion. It looks somewhat celtic, but incorporates more rounded triangles.

Ahh, but the centerpiece is the best. A halo of striated gold banded in silver supports a Greek Orthodox cross (all the sides are equal in length and width). Inside each cross piece are three rounded triangles interlaced into one another on a silver backdrop. In the center is a simple green stone that accentuates the whole effect, draws the eye to and away from the metallic shine.

Two full paragraphs later, I absolutely adore this ring. It's not just beautiful, but I know why my mom got it for me. I've studied the knights templars extensively, just because their codes and ethics appealed to me. The cross is shaped like the one they had on their shields and surcoats. Brings back a warm, familiar feeling to me, having this ring on my finger.

It's the best present I've ever received.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.