Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Methane gas sucks

2002-01-22 - 3:55 a.m.

The last few days have been very confusing/productive/life-threatening.

At first I thought I was losing the friendship of several people, then to my surprise everything turned out to either be a misunderstanding or just got better really quickly.

Two days ago I nearly tripped and broke a few things when the plastic matting on this one stair-step literally slipped out from under me. I caught the railing on my shoulders mostly, but it was a slight shock to the system. The lost friend count was at about 2 then, so I was still numb to the world at large. After that Alec, Alpha Kate, Leah and I zoned out at Dunkin' Donuts for well nigh on 3 hours. Somehow we got computing, conversion, and reminiscing about high school and what tests were like crammed in there with cheap jokes. A local girl looked at me with hateful interest. Either I was cute or my ring with the Templar insignia upset her. I've been hated for both reasons so who knows. She was still starring at me when I walked out.

Things in the lab today were catastrophically bad at first. One of my rats was squirming too much for me to inject him properly. Eventually he seemed to calm down and things seemed ok...then he went completely limp and didn't seem to be moving. I told Omega (she's the supervisor since this is her research) that something was wrong. His eyes were open, but his heart rate was much slower than it should have been. The drug we use can affect how the heart functions and slow it down. I must have accidentally hit an artery for it to happen that quickly. Several other assistants stopped what they were doing and cuddled the rat, making sure he was warm enough, got jostled to keep his heart rate up, etc.

As that was happening one of the assistants, Val, asked me to come into her room and smell something. Going in there was a sweet-smelling gas of some kind. I took in deep breaths for about two minutes trying to figure out what it was. Omega then came in and figured out it was methane gas. Not only is it flammable, the gas can be highly toxic. For about the next hour I felt realllllly light-headed. Val was already taking major amounts of codeine, so she was zorched.

Eventually the gas got turned off while the ailing rat was "totally spoiled" by the fawning assistants. He almost looked smug, being hand fed froot loop dust and water.

Today's D&D session was ok; nothing spectacular (kindof like this entry). I'm getting a better feel for what they want, which is basically killing things that don't exist as opposed to dealing with social and psychological issues. So much for trying to do something creative with it.

I haven't been in the mood to write recently. It's hard to even force this out. I'm tired and off for some reason, but I can't put my finger on why.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.