Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Research: a pooch screw in progress

2002-02-26 - 8:23 p.m.

I woke up at 10:30. It was dark, as if it were night still. I lay in bed until noon, thinking about spring break and imagining what it'll be like to hold someone again. I wonder what'll happen, how she'll react, what her smiles looks like. I haven't heard from Colleen in awhile. Seems very sad recently. It hurts to see that; she deserves better.

Moving on, the highlight of my day was sitting down with my research advisor and talking shop. I'd spent the last few hours re-running some analyses, skimming over the literature, generally trying to be responsibile.

He sortof sat there and looked increasingly thoughtful as I yaked at him for 15 minutes. His frown deepened, like a large mouth bass with two miniature anvils hooked into the corners of his mouth. Sortof a "golly but he knows his shit...I wonder how in the hell all this connects up" look. Then we started discussing results from this past winter, the results I re-analyzed, stuff like that.

We now both know we officially have jack shit.

Across the board on every experiment there is NO drug effect. Period. Basically we've been trying to figure out what the hell we can do to isolate what it IS doing. I've set up meetings with a bunch of neuroscience faculty to get a better idea of what to do. If anything it'll impress my research advisor that I'm on top of things.

Only other thing that comes to mind is flirting with a girl I knew from my Traditional Japan course. It was sweet and pathetic simultaneously: I'm sitting down with my partner at a cafe doing chemistry. She walks in. She looks over at me, I lock eyes with her. 30 seconds pass. We both smile and laugh at one another at the same time. We continue to look. I get yonked back by my partner saying something important. The rest of the time I'm not so subtly trying look out of the corner of my eye, seeing if the girl is doing the same thing. Yup, she was. I wanted to stop the chem., introduce myself, get her name...but I thought she'd stay there for awhile, I could put it off.

She ended up leaving eventually. Maybe I'll see her around sometime soon. All I know is that this loneliness thing sucks and I'd like to get to know her better.

Ah well, at least I've got this wonderless drug and some research articles to keep me company.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.