Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

The tests, the job, my mind pleasantly burnt to a crisp

2002-02-25 - 11:28 p.m.

So I finally took the biology and chem. tests today.

Bio. momentarily confused me. Looking over the questions, I realized almost all of them were from a practice test we had been given. It was a trick, I thought, it had to be. But no, after all this tense anticipation and little hints thrown in by the prof., it ended up being a cake-walk. It was anti-climatic but pleasant, like one of those happy "what the hell?!" moments.

Then chemistry came. The ironic part is that I thought it was going to be the easier of the two. I was wrong. Opening up the thing I glance through the first few problems...and there's something off about them. These aren't anything like the problems I'm used to solving, not even the same abstract structure. Not like apples and oranges different, but these were some majorly screwed up apples.

Thankfully my focusing problem gets me all the time I need...and for once I really needed it. The first hour was mostly slogging through the problems, doing them four times, then realizing I wasn't even close. The second hour was productive but mostly frustrating. I think all of it started coming together around the middle of the third hour. I hadn't eaten anything, though, so it might have just seemed like that.

Finally finished, I felt humilliated and totally burnt, slowly walking upstairs to turn in the exam. The prof. spoke to me with a mixture of sympathy and an "awww, poor retarded puppy, it's ok, the others were just as confused" feel. I appreciated the pity, though. How she ever though that thing was supposed to take 50 minutes is beyond me.

The rest of the day was me being burnt, seeing all sorts of people, getting incredibly depressed, then kicking myself around until I got my drive back.

Oh, random note. I got a note back from this bigwig psych. researcher at U. of Chicago. It'll be a few more weeks before he knows if he can fit me in, but he asked for a resume. This is a good sign. I know from looking at his webpage that noone from his lab is graduating, so one or two graduate researcher positions are open.

It'd be really nice if I could have a job before I leave here. Wouldn't know what to do otherwise.

I should have bought booze tonight to massage my brain...but I think a shower and an extended nap'll do.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.