Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Rainy day women

2002-03-09 - 3:57 p.m.

Overcast, drizzling, about 50 degrees or so. The clouds outside used to be distinguishable, now they're some mucky weird soup mix. Light grey, uneventful, but calming. Friday has the release of the weekend, but you still have to spend part of it working...and sunday, hell, you've got to worry about waking up sober the next morning. Ah but saturday, where you can sleep in and stay out all night if you want.

So it's another saturday in the science library, mostly admiring the ceiling, outside, the geeky people and even the book in my hands on occason. 40 pages of Thermodynamics is a little rough, but I'm managing it well enough. I also did some research about the Atlantic blue crab and its incredibly high rate of cannibalism. I think it's funny how crab seems to like the taste of crab as much as we do.

Nothing's happened with the note I left on that girl's door. I passed by her in the "dining hall" (it's a bloody cafeteria, come on), but there was no stopping, no strange glances, anything. Somehow this is comforting. I think I'm actually afraid of getting involved. Maybe I just need more time, or a different atmosphere with different types of people.

Alec and Alpha Kate seemed well and good last night. I also saw Shelley and Dave around the student union cafe/bistro complex. Since I want to procrastinate I'll tell you a bit about them.

Alec was the first person I met back when I transferred to Oberlin, though I doubt he remembers it. I was getting out of the admissions building, still trying to adjust to my surroundings and being on the east coast. This 5'5 guy sporting a frizzly 5 day beard, moppy black hair, and a curiously grinny smile came up and said something. I can't remember what, but at the time he threw me sortof off-centre. Later on he became a part of the same 20+ person cliche I found myself in. He's always been argumentative, sweet, endearingly brash at points, basically the friend who likes proving himself right when he has a stake in the topic. Good guy all in all.

Alpha Kate I've never spoken with much. I sortof know her as an aquaintance through the huge group I mentioned. Very care-free usually, aloof in an odd way, but she laughs alot of the time (and even at my jokes). I don't know why, but it's always seemed like she is hiding something from people. I can't argue, though, she's gorgeous and sociable.

Shelley and Dave are a couple that I know through another group I eat with. I can't describe Dave any other way except a true-to-life boyscout, paladin, just a guy who's like virtue incarnate. I don't know how he does it, personally. His girlfriend, Shelley, is urbane, down-to-earth, doesn't take bullshit in any form, but is actually incredibly pleasant. I've never done anything with them except eat, yet they always seem really happy to see me. I have no idea why, then again with anyone who does that I don't know why.

There's also the group with Matt, Bo, Liz and a few other people in it. I see them off and on, usually the weekends, when I'm too tired to work or I wanna risk it and just screw off (it happens).

The weather's gotten dark and fierce all of the sudden. I'm getting that spray mist car wash action in heavy sheets. That's gonna suck later.

But for now, more reading.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.