Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Update on the lab job

2002-03-18 - 2:16 p.m.

Watching the clock. 12:55. Sitting on my bed, fidgetting nervously. I look over at the phone and wait, silently hoping I can sound confident. There's a lump in my throat. I keep swallowing but I just hang there, blinking hard.

1:03 passes. She'll call any minute now.

1:06 and already I'm starting to panic. What went wrong? did I leave the wrong number? Is my ringer not working? I'll leave an email about that, yes, then that'll be ok. It'll be ok. Is she late? am I screwed? What's going on?

1:15...nothing still...1:30 rolls into 1:45. I check my inbox every 30 seconds, praying I don't get anything.

2:20 now...and nothing. No letter, no phone call, anything. I feel the adrenaline leaving my system but I have this big knot inside. I wanted to resolve this job thing, find out if I was good enough or not, move on either way. Now I have to wait with all these other things piled on top of me.

I whispered a few prayers and a half hour spiel to God this morning. I kept repeating how I had been working up to this, how I might finally be able to do people some good with the work I could do.

Ahh...update:

She couldn't get through to my phone so I called her instead. The conversation went well I think. She inferred at a few points that I had already landed the job. She talked about this one study for about 10 minutes describing it in detail. Things seemed good...but then at the end she mentioned research people already there get first crack at things and, if they have anything left over, I get the table scraps.

So it went from something fairly solid to "we'll let you know in about two weeks or so." This isn't a good sign, but not a bad one either. I underestimate anything where I'm concerned. Now I have to wait more.

Two weeks. I think maybe I should look around at other places...but when?

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.