Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Score me points of geekiness, O' robe-ed ones

2002-04-07 - 5:08 a.m.

I struggled out of bed at around 1:45. Being sick makes bed my favorite spot. As I was walking over to get in at the end of lunch I ran into Paul, or the furry Curry as he prefers sometimes. He was friends with Omega Kate and all the others before I was. He graduated a few years ago and hasn't been able to do much since; still has hopes, though. It was Kate Omega's birthday today and she didn't want me coming with her and a posse of four others to lunch. She mentioned something about PMS. I take it seriously: she can be a royal bitch when hormones are on her side. It kindof hurt, but I know the two of us don't have anything in common anymore. Erin would be there anyway, so it would have been awkward.

Around then I went in to get my hair cut. This is the shortest it's ever been, easily three inches above my shoulders. I like my hair short, much less of a hastle.

I talked to an ex of mine, Monica (who was also involved with the large social group type thingy). A mutual "friend" of ours sat with us for awhile, bantering about the completely useless crap only she and a handful of other people can rattle off. Basically she'd say something for five minutes, Monica would repeat or clarify her last point, I'd say something, then the whole cycle would repeat. Monica seems to be doing well, at least. She's looking to intern at Hillary Clinton's office this summer. Exuberant, highly nervous, work-oriented, sociable. Heh, good ol' Monica.

I spent most of today in the computer science lab with the boys. They've adopted me as an honorary member, which probably puts me up a few notches in the geek world. It's like being a part of an exclusive lodge or cult, but without the membership dues or messy initiation and punishment rites. We talk sometimes, blow each other up, even be moderately productive work-wise.

I like geeky things and people because they're non-commital, distant activities or fairly open types of people. Most things require this consistent basis/same set of personality traits thing that gets boring after awhile. There you can come and go as you please, which for me works best. Actually, being a geek is alot like being a regular at a bar. People nod and smile when you're there, mention you while you're gone, and bring you up in various stories years after you've left.

I don't leave a very meaningful imprint there or with the people...and I really like that notion. There I'm just a dude with semi-mad skillz. There I'm not sensitive, thoughtful, distant, intelligent, witty, or really anything. I'm just there, like sleeping with your eyes open cuddled up next to several other people. There's trust but no reason to really be trusting. I don't know them, they don't know me. But somehow it works.

I wish life were as simple as the lab.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.