Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

The geek is good

2002-05-08 - 3:42 p.m.

Woken up at 7:40, rolling around in dazed confusion, sleep-deprivation gradually fading away as I threw back swigs of the toilet-bowl cleaner colored wonder drink. My austrian special, starring at me blankly as I flipped over the exam and began it. Studying every question intently, I began to wonder: what the hell is this? Something was wrong, this wasn't a normal test. The multiple choice was...straight-forward, essay questions routine...all in all an almost pleasant experience.

So I can lick a test with only two days of studying. Go me. Today is dedicated to getting caught up in chemistry and understanding things well enough to complete the homework I got an extension on. It's nice to know that my chem. profs. understand senior pressure. Not that they understand why a senior is taking intro. chem., but hey, I do weird things.

Yes, weird things that border on either non-sensical or the downright masochistic. Take my being in neuroendocrinology. Sure you have hormones and their related clinical conditions. I'm an accomplished psych. major, symptoms and diagnosing shit is old hand. The fact that we have to learn proper experimental design and basic stats. made me snicker. I have one up on these straight neuroscience bastards.

Now my steel-toed boot to the ass comes when we go into semi-detailed description of these huge, structurally complex molecules that do wonky things. Because of this, most people (and the instructor) seemed to assume the following: Oh, people have already taken upper division biology and biochem. courses. And indeed, it'd be an easy course with them.

Not me.

I take a look at this molecular hodge-podge of ases, acetyls, carboxyls and other thingies and at first it makes no sense. Probably about as much as those words mean to most people reading this. There's a certain demented...no...thoroughly sinful pleasure I get when I do better than most of these people. Sure it's hard, but it's my major and that means it is my bitch.

I do things the hard way. You probably have noticed this.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.