Like the pictures you see up top and in my gallery? Want to have your soul devoured by art in a relatively fun way? Well shoot me an e-mail.



Recent Entries

Garion born; thinking of doing video logs - 2012-09-01

I'm married, I'm a prospective father, wow I never update - 2012-05-22

Got the job at the NIA; mother complicates wedding plans - 2011-10-13

Scrawl - 2011-08-05

It's never been better - 2011-06-02


<<Autobiography>> <<Cast List>> <<Photography>> <<Donations>>

Spending time with that fam and sciency quanderies

2002-05-25 - 3:56 a.m.

I called the lab at Princeton, finding out that it'll be another few weeks before they know. The guy sounds sympathetic. I wanna tell him this they're my only choice at this point, but researchers aren't known for dolling out mercy over qualifications. Unless you're family or know the person. Why can't nepotism ever work for poor quasi-Indian first gen. students like me?

Regarding the fam, Gram and Mom and I went out to this restaurant called "Lone Star" for din dins. At the time I thought it was a strange name. Then I stepped inside, to be greeted by honky tonk overtones with oversized bald men and women with that classic Texan hairstyle. I don't mind country anymore, so we sat down and chatted about various whatnot. The waitress was a shy thing, obviously new, but very sincere and pleasant. We tipped graciously. After dinner came the universal beached whale lie-down and possible nap. Gram decided to take the latter as I luxuriously showered with exotic soaps. Mom just enjoyed her book.

It's nice that they understand that I've only got a few more days with my friends. I never really appreciated them when I was busy. Well...no, I never really appreciate anything until it's gone or is about to go. I can love it, respect it, or see the qualities about someone...but loss embellishes positive aspects, like an ice pick curving around and bringing through the light in just the right way. Like an ice sculpture, standing there. Sometimes I just sit by the foot of someone and feel around the contours that I remember. It's cold and distant, but there's a faded beauty to it. I wonder if anyone remembers me that way and what they see.

Today, For the most part, was focused on blowing shit up or talking with old friends. At around 7 I ran across some old grads who I know through Omega Kate, who happen to know Raymi from downstairs. We all seemed to end up at his place for an informal "party," wondering aloud what the hell people were doing. Thomas Doggett called Raymi out of the blue asking after me, since he kinda needs a room and I kinda said he could sleep in mine. A little bit later he was there, chatting it up with Paul about role-playing games and other sundries. The boys, Kerry (Omega's boyfriend), Paul Curry and Thomas decided to go to the all freshman dorm and kick at doors and do other infantile things. Since they're all alums, only my card works...so I let them loose inside. Who am I to deny meaningless violence?

Later on in the comp. sci. lab, Alec and I had a series of interesting little conversation amidst blowing shit up and after the aftermath. He explained to me some fundamentals of Calculus and number theory. We got into a debate about the absolute truth of mathematics versus the "ooo, fuzzy animal, I wonder what it does and how it functions?" types of sciences. I tried explaining that given infinite time, which is a given in math, observing any phenomena and taking all variables into account will lead to some approximation that gets damn near absolute truth. There's the whole issue of increasing complexity, but bah.

I feel odd being cerebral in this thing...but then again, all of the people who read this have a good chunklet of that cerebral thing going for them. I've tried being more simple, but it doesn't seem to fly.

{Insert transition here} Windows XP is so far much more stable, although these default settings could drive a man to shave small children and make a coat out of their hair. That thought aside, I hope all of you are well.

previous - next

Guestbook

Written and photographic content, 2001-2070, Gemini Inc., All rights reserved. Disclaimer.